5:1 Andrews Family
5:2 Prof. Alfred Arthur
5:3 Ashley, Mrs. Lura Wagar
5:4 Badger, Rev. Joseph
5:5 Bassett Family
5:6 Beach, Henry
5:7 Bott, W.E.
5:8 Branch, Fred
5:9 Briggs, Claude P.
5:10 Bullock, Arthur R.
5:11 Burton, Charles G.
5:12 Byar, F.A.
5:13 Calkins Family
5:14 Canfield, Ira E.
5:15 Case, Leonard P.
5:16 Case Family
5:17 Cooper, Theodore Arthur
5:18 Cotabish, Nelson C.
5:19 Cotabish, Mrs. Sabina
5:20 Coutant Family
5:21 Cowan, Alice G.
5:22 Cowan, Alice G.
5:23 Crawford, Russell Boyd M.D.
5:24 Cross, Cleaveland R.
5:25 Curren, Robert G.
5:26 Daniels, William Richard
5:27 Dean, Flavius J.
5:28 Dean Family
5:29 Delaney, Charles A.
5:30 Delaney, Charles A.
5:31 Dickson, J.D.
5:32 Edwards, Richard
5:33 Elliott Family
5:34 Elliot, Frank
5:35 Eliott, Franklin Reuben
5:36 Elliott, Henry Wood
5:37 Emmons, Charles Wallace M.D.
5:38 Farmer, Andrew
5:39 Farmer Family
5:40 Farr Family
5:41 Fishback, Sophie
5:42 French, A. Albert
5:43 French, Price
5:44 French Family (Mrs. Francis Long)
5:45 Fry, Dr. Richard
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 7)
From the time of the Civil War, very little was done in general farming along the old Indian trail on Detroit Street, small fruits and fancy grapes, apples and pears and peaches being more cultivated. The berries were picked by armies of pickers who either walked to the fields from the awful mud hole than known as "Cuba" now Clarke Avenue, or came on the "Dummy". Headquarters seemed to be the Andrews, for they were successful fruit raisers in a big way. They, like Dr. Kirtland, raised fruit because they loved to do so.
Mrs. Jennie V. Andrews, niece of Mrs. Collins French, an adopted daughter and an heiress of the French estate, which formerly extended from Hilliard, including what is now Mars Avenue, was a special favorite of the old doctor.
As Mr. Collins French and Dr. Kirtland were close friends, many of the choice cherry trees of the farm were budded by the old doctor from the cherries originated by himself. The old doctor originated practically all the fine cherries now under cultivation, although some of the fine varieties have already been lost. One of the first to volunteer from his Wisconsin home town for the Civil War was young Edwin Ruthven Andrews, not yet 18 years old. He was of Scotch ancestry. While lying wounded next to the cot of an army surgeon, the latter told that his heart was affected - and for this reason he later left the employ of Benton, Myers and Canfield, wholesale druggists, where he was employed as a bookkeeper, and went into partnership with Collins French in the fruit raising business.
No matter what he was doing or how hard he worked, Mr. Andrew always looked like the gentleman he was. He was handsome, with the level eye of the soldier. He died of the heart trouble he learned of while in the military hospital, at the age of 39 years. Mrs. Jennie Andrews lived in the old manse next to the Masonic Temple, living there over 70 years, the house having been somewhat remodeled. Before that time she lived in a house which was torn down when the Wilbur Bailey manse was erected at the corner of Detroit and Elbur.
Her grandmother lived to be 102 years old and her great grandmother to be 100. On her fathers side, John Haroun was an officer in the English army. He like America so well he settled here soon after the war. The Harouns came from Cork, Ireland. Her grandfather on her mothers side, James Saxton, was a civil engineer who came to Ohio in 1802 from Vermont, and again in 1808 as a surveyor. In 1812 he settled in Ridgeville with his wife Rosette and family.
served with distinction in the Revolutionary war as a Captain. They came
to the wilderness with a span of horses then rare - a saddle horse and
a cow as the main items of family possessions. Captain Saxon passed by
the mudhole of a town - Cleveland, and located on the fine sandy belt at
Ridgeville. On the journey over, they stopped at Rose Hill, where the Cahoon
place was west of Rocky River, and heard the bombing of cannon at Put-in-bay,
60 miles away. Local report said that the British had defeated Commodore
Perry, and many of the settlers made ready to flee from the British. Mrs.
Andrews treasures of the relics of the trip to the Saxtons, including a
splint bottom chair, from which the rockers have been removed, a candle
light lantern which is made of tin, the light percolating to the outside
through minute symmetrically punched holes (no glass), a lantern with glass
at four sides (candle light) and a spinning wheel. Her love for plant and
animal life was instilled by Dr. Kirtland. He gave her a yucca needle and
thread stripped from the leaf. He budded a cherry tree for her so that
half the tree bore rose-like blossoms, and the rest bore fruit. He gave
her some snowdrop plants, and told her that the original had been brought
here from Europe and the family had moved so often that the flowers had
now the first chance to blossom in 40 years. Later, he told her that her
second son Frank, the one member of her family she had lost, had the soul
of a naturalist, as the child had examined a plant closely yet carefully
so as not to injure it in any way. As he grew to manhood, Frank Andrews
became town authority on plant and bird life. Back in the days when Jay
C. Andrews, the oldest of four sons was small lad of six years, Rocky River
from Detroit Street to the lake was a pleasure resort. Thirst could be
assuaged at Knoll's under the hill, or at a road house on the park in Clifton
Park, or the Cliff House, about midway between Detroit Street and the Nickle
Plate Railroad. Various schemes were employed to lure customers to these
places- One great attraction was a tight rope walker on a rope extending
to the west bank were Silverthorns was located, from the East Rockport
shore, 90 feet above the water. A blatant brass band furnished the music.
Little Jay had seen the rope walker, and one day he got a rope and balancing
stick mounted the narrow band tope at the picket fence in front of the
place and staged an imitation of the act. A band bound for some river festivity,
came along and played while the small boy went on with his stunt greatly
delighted. There were four sons of Jennie V. and Edwin A. Andrews; J.C.
Andrews, whose wife is a descendant of the family of Gen. Israel Putnam:
Frank R. Andrews whose widow was the only child of Mr. Daniel Webb; George
A. Andrews who married Miss Koelges the daughter of a well known Lakewood
merchant; and Edwin R. Andrews. The Andrews were fortunate when Lakewood
turned down the offer of lake frontage for $100,000, for they sold the
same acreage for a bigger price later.
PROF. ALFRED ARTHUR
THE LAKEWOOD PRESS - Nov. 28, 1918 Page 5.
Professor Alfred Arthur, president and director of the Cleveland School of Music, 3101 Prospect avenue, died last week at his home, 13850 Lake avenue, Lakewood, after an illness of two month of heart trouble. Funeral services will be held Friday afternoon.
He was one of the pioneer musicians of the state. He came to Cleveland in 1871 and founded the Cleveland School of Music in 1885. He was born in Pittsburgh in 1844, was educated at the Boston School of Music and was a veteran of the Civil War. He went abroad on several occasions to study methods of instruction in the music conservatories of England and on the continent. He write a number of text books and ws the author of a group of operas that were presented by amateur companies in Cleveland.
is survived by his widow and two sons, Alfred F. and Edwin D. Arthur.
MRS. LURA ASHLEY DIES IN 96TH YEAR IN LAKEWOOD HOME
CLEVELAND PRESS Monday, August 7, 1939
Rites Wednesday for Widely Known Resident of Suburb
Mrs. Lura Wagar Ashley, 96, who was born in Lakewood when it was farm and forest land, was dead there today.
Mrs. Ashley was the eldest of five granddaughters of Lakewood’s early settler, Mary E. Wagar.
She was born on the site of the old sandstone house that for more than 80 years was a landmark at the corner of Woodward and Detroit avenues and lived there during most of her life.
When the house was razed four years ago to make way for a modern garage and service station, Mrs. Ashley moved with a younger sister, Mrs. Alfred Goodell, 85, to 14903 Clifton boulevard.
on Local History
Previously, Mrs. Ashley and her four widowed sisters, all older than 75, had lived in the family homestead together. They were noted for their keen minds and gracious hospitality.
Mrs. Ashley knew the history of Lakewood better than most historians because she had watched it develop from "country" to a thriving city of more than 75,000.
She used to enjoy telling her nieces and nephews how her father had purchased the stone for the house from a nearby quarry for $20. She could remember hearing her grandfather say he had paid $7 an acre for the land.
Daughter of Israel Dwelley Wagar and Elizabeth Pyle Wagar, Mrs. Ashley was a young lady during the Civil War. A niece, Mrs. Sheldon P. Clark, still has a flag made by Mrs. Ashley by hand and displayed during that war.
She attended the Female Seminary in Painesville--the only school of higher education for miles around--and later taught school in East Rockport.
Two sisters survive her, Mrs. Alfred Goodell, 85, and Mrs. Myron G. Browne, 93, now of Boulder, Colo. The other sisters, Mrs. Jessie Loveland and Mrs. Caroline Messick have died within the past five years.
at 2 p.m. Wednesday will be held in the Brach-Kauffman Funeral Home, 16605
Detroit avenue, Lakewood. Burial will be in Lake View Cemetery.
BADGER, REV. JOSEPH
HISTORY OF CLEVELAND, 1796-1890 -- KENNEDY Pg. 100 - 103
The Rev. Joseph Badger was, *******, the most prominent of the Protestant missionaries sent into this wilderness, and his services were such as to entitle him to more than a passing mention. He was a native of Massachusetts, where he was born in 1757; enlisted at eighteen in the Revolutionary Army, where he gave a valiant service for three years; entered college in 1781 and graduated in 1785; studied for the ministry, and was licensed to preach in 1786. He occupied a pulpit in Massachusetts for a short period, when he resigned, and accepted a call to go, as a missionary, to the Western Reserve, under the auspices of the Connecticut Missionary Society.
On the 15th of November, 1800, he mounted his horse, and set out for his far-away field of labor. He passed through Pennsylvania, crossed the Allegheny Mountains in a snow storm, and reached Pittsburg on December 14th. After a couple of days rest, he again pushed on through the woods, and late on a Saturday night reached Youngstown. His first sermon on the Reserve was preached on the Sabbath following to almost the entire population finding shelter in the half-dozen log cabins of which the town was composed. He soon pushed on to to other settlements, visiting Vienna, Hartford, Vernon, Cleveland ,and elsewhere in turn. "In this way," says his biographer, "Rev. Mr. Badger visited, in the course of the year 1801, every settlement and nearly every family throughout the Western Reserve. In doing this, he often rode from five to twenty-five miles a day, carrying with him in saddle-bags a scanty supply of clothing and eatables, and often traversing pathless woodlands, amid storms and tempests, swimming unbridged rivers and suffering from cold and hunger, and at the same time, here and there, visiting lone families, giving them and their children religious instruction and wholesome advice, and preaching at points where ever a few could be gathered together, sometimes in a log cabin or in a barn, and sometimes in the open filed or in a woodland, beneath the shadows of the trees. At about this time he preached the first sermon ever heard in Cleveland."
He was a visitor at this city on the 18th of August, 1801, and lodged at Lorenzo Carter's. On the 6th of September he enters this record: "We swam our horses across the Cuyahoga by means of a canoe, and took an Indian path up the lake; came to Rocky River, the banks of which were very high, on the west side almost perpendicular. While cutting the brush to open a way for our horses, we were saluted by the song of a large yellow rattlesnake, which we removed out of our way." In the year following, 1802, he again visited Cleveland, and did not receive a favorable impression concerning the religious desires of its people. He says: "Mr. Burke's family in Euclid, had been in this lone situation for over three years. The woman had been obliged to spin and weave cattle's hair to make covering for her children's bed. From thence I went Cleveland, visited the only two families, and went on to Newburg, where I preached on the Sabbath. There were five families here, but no apparent piety. They seemed to glory in their infidelity."
In the fall of 1801, Mr. Badger visited Detroit on Horseback, laboring by the way with both white and red as they came across his path. It is not a specially engaging view of the moral condition of the day, when we read his statement that he found no none in all the region whom he could regard as a Christian, "except a black man who appeared pious." On his return he paid a visit to Hudson-- a little later the seat of learning of northeastern Ohio--where he found material from which to organize a church, the membership of which consisted of ten men and six women. To Hudson, therefore, belongs the credit of the first church organization on the Reserve.
In October, he returned to New England, where he made arrangements to return to the west with his family, on a salary of seven dollars per week. On February 23rd 1802, he loaded his household effects and family into a wagon drawn by four horses, and started upon his long journey, covering the six hundred miles in sixty days. He decided to make his home in Austinburg, where he purchased a small lot of land and put up a log cabin. He soon resumed his labors in the field, traveling from point to point as before. A little later a revival season of considerable power was commenced a the result of his ministrations. He organized many churches and schools and continued still in the field, although his eastern sponsors reduced his pay to six dollars per week. In 1809, he returned to Connecticut, made a final settlement with the missionary society and worked no longer under its direction. He came back to the Reserve, and labored as a missionary among the Indians between the Cuyahoga and Detroit. He took an active interest in the War of 1812, and at the command of General Harrison filled the position of chaplain. He afterwards settled as the pastor of a church at Austinburg; held various charges in other locations, and died at Perrysburg in 1846, at the advanced age of eighty-nine years.
personal appearance," to again quote from his biographer, "Rev. Joseph
Badger was tall, slim, erect, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a pleasing
expression of face. In temperament and action, he was quick and somewhat
impulsive, yet he was considerate and slow of utterance, rarely, if ever,
uttering an imprudent word. In his social intercourse, he was sedate or
facetious, as the occasion seemed to require. He enjoyed hearing and telling
amusing anecdotes. In his style of preaching, he was apostolic, plain,
simple and logical. In creed he was an orthodox Presbyterian. He had but
one grand aim in life, and that was to do what he could to advance the
moral and spiritual welfare of mankind. In a word, Rev. Joseph Badger,
though dead, still lives and will ever live in memory as the early western
missionary whose philanthropic and life-long labors were prompted by the
spirit of a true Christian manhood."
ELIZABETH BASSETT MCALISTER (Daughter of Charles Bassett)
Ezra Bassett, an early settler in this part of Ohio, came from Florida Massachusetts in the year 1829.
He brought with him his family consisting of wife, Kesiah DeWitt Bassett, and five children, Homer, Henry, Marilla, Charles and Dwight. Three other children were born in Ohio, Elizabeth, John and William.
In coming to Ohio, they traveled by wagon from Florida, Massachusetts to Albany, New York. From Albany to Buffalo via the Erie canal and from Buffalo to Cleveland by steam boat.
They settled on a farm of fifty-seven acres on the corner of Puritas Springs Boulevard and Grayton Road. Houses that they lived in are still standing. They bought land on both sides of Rocky River Drive, a fifty acre parcel on the West Side and Barber property of about one hundred acres.
When Ezra Bassett died they were living in a pretty home in Brooklyn Village, now a part of Cleveland.
The children were brought up in a Christian home. Each day was reverently begun by the reading of the Scriptures and followed by all kneeling in prayer.
Several of the children attended Oberlin College.
They attended a Baptist church which stood on the corner of Riverside Drive and Lorain Road and later they attended the church now know as the West Park Congregational Church. Ezra Bassett was a deacon in he church and held civic offices.
Homer Bassett went back to New England and was city librarian in Waterbury, Connecticut for many years. He was also an author.
Henry joined the "forty niners" to California in search of gold. He made his home in California.
Marilla married Lorin Nichols and stayed in Rockport as did her sister Elizabeth who married Charles Jordan.
Charles and Dwight lived on the farms in Rocky River Drive.
John enlisted in the Civil War was taken ill and died and his body was sent home for burial. A group of his comrades paid the expenses but Grandfather showed his appreciation by sending back to them one hundred dollars.
William, the youngest, also settle in Rockport.
the fireplace in the old house, and on either side were cupboards where
grandmother kept good things to eat. Before we could talk, we used to point
up to to where the raisin cake was kept, and such cake and such bread [copy
unreadable] I have never tasted anything so good since.
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 1)
One of the few remaining old landmarks of Lakewood, antedating by two generations the present name, is the fine old Beach residence at the corner of Beach and Detroit Avenue. The old mansion has been somewhat enlarged and fitted with improvements, but has in general preserved the lines of the early structure. Beach Avenue was named after Henry Beach, and the old homestead is occupied by Mr. C.A. Townsend and family. Mrs. Townsend was Emma Beach.
Henry Beach was the first white child born in Elyria township, in 1817. His father, Junia Beach and wife, whose maiden was Ingraham, came from Connecticut and the father died when the son was 3 months old. His widow some years later married Sperry, and lived to be nearly 100 years old. She used to tell her grandchildren how tame Indians would peer into the open door as they roved the country, but they had not been active since Mad Anthony Wayne had knocked sense into their heads, except for a time after the war of 1812.
Henry Beach bought 28 acres, (on a part of which the present home stands), in 1865, gave $100 an acre and was given $5.00 discount for paying cash. He bought it from a local character, Gardner Oaks, who, though somewhat a wit, was apparently illiterate, as he signed the deed with his mark. The land was not as good as he thought it would be, and when he sold, he moved to Michigan in what was later known as the "prairie schooner". More than a half century later, a question arose about another sale of Mr. Oaks where his wife's name did not appear on the deed, nor the statement that he was unmarried, and it came out that Mrs. Oaks died on the trip to Michigan, and that this particular deed was made after her death. One of Mr. Oaks witticisms which came to the Townsend family verbally was about a turnip seed, which are minute in size. He said the only way to avoid waste in planting too close was to "Make a pinhole in yer pantspocket filled with the seed-a pound-and run like -- over a tenacre lot-and then I'm not sure but that the goldarned seed would leak out too fast."
Mr. Beach lived to know that Mr. Oaks made a mistake when he left Ohio. His wife, whose name was Sabrina Frost, died many years earlier. The old barn which now stands back of the house was in 1864 near the Detroit Street line and old then.
The last Civil War draft of 100 day men was made when the new house was building, and many of the carpenters were called away, which delayed the building. Mr. Townsend told a story of a then very popular minister in Lakewood whom he met at a banquet in California. The Californians were boasting of their wonderful climate. The minister, when he arose, said he had listened with pleasure to the eulogists of the Golden Gate, but "I hail from Lakewood on the lake in the great state of Ohio, where we have the most wonderful climate of all! As a boy I have taken a bath in our famous swimming hole in the morning and the weather changed so that in the afternoon I skated on the pond, as it had frozen solid."
Mr. Beach always voted but was not a politician--he was a typical Yankee--a fine citizen, quiet, reserved, humorous, hospitable and a good friend.
Ingraham mar. Junia Beach
Electa mar. John Spencer, Fairview (Rockport)
Philo mar. Catherine Shaw, lived in Dover.
Henry mar. Sabrina H. Frost came to Lakewood E. Rockport 1864
Junia Beach died and his widow, Hannah Ingraham beach mar Amos Sperry
Junia Sperry mar. Spencer sister of John Spencer.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
Beach and Sabrina Frost had 1 daughter,
Emma Jane mar. Charles A. Townsend.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
Beach b. Sept. 10, 1817 (1st white child born in Elyria) d. Feb. 12, 1907
Sabrina H. Frost, June 24, 1856. b. Jan 18, 1826, d. May 28, 1894.
She was the daughter of Dr. Elias C. Frost of Olmstead. Her mother's
name was Pheobe McIlrath.
and Sabrina Beach had 1 daughter
Emma Jane b. Mar. 3, 1859 mar. May 21, 1879 Charles A. Townsend,
b. Aug. 29, 1853, d. Jan 3, 1922. son of Hiram Townsend and
Charity Brady of Greenwich, Ohio.
Henry Burton b. Feb. 20, 1880, d. 1933, mar. Helen N. Mallay, Oct. 8, 1903.
Helen Mallay b. Dec. 9, 1882, daughter of Michael F. Mallay and Mary
NeVille of Amherst, Ohio.
Henry and Helen have 1 son
William Beach b. Mar. 16, 1910.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
Flora Edith Townsend b. Feb. 20, 1889, mar. Sept. 8, 1909 to
John Ferdinand Knoblock b. Oct. 19, 1885 son of John Ferdinand
Knoblock and Hattie Pryne of Erie Pa.
TEST TUBE GARDEN
CLEVELAND PRESS 6/22/39
Secrets Told by Chemist
W.E. Bott, who begins in the accompanying article an explanation of some of the newer trends in chemical gardening, became interested in chemestry while with the National Carbon C. before the World War. Diverted into real estate, he returned to his original interest after some years by forming his own chemical specialties firm, which he subsequently sold.
His primary interest now is horticultural chemistry. He has lectured on the subject before a number of garden and other groups. He is a native Ohioan, is married and lives at 16805 Lakewood Heights boulevard.
By W.E. BOTT
WITHIN the last two yeas there have occurred developments in horticulture which undoubtedly mean the greatest revolution that this rich science has yet known.
Entirely apart from the economic promise of the new discovery is the field of experimentation it opens up to the most humble of amateurs--the non-professional gardeners everywhere who rejoice in the rearing of plants.
It is for this reason that I welcome the opportunity to help spread information about the newest thing that has come to horticulture. A new world is about to be explored. It is a world potentially filled with super-flowers, super-vegetables, super-trees and plants of every kind.
Whether your garden is confined to a window box or is measured in acres, you can easily share in this exploration. My purpose in this and succeeding articles is to demonstrate specifically how.
Let us then, at the very start, make mention of colchicine. It is an extract of the bulb of the fall-blooming crocus--a deadly poison which must be handled with considerable care, but which has the capacity to do phenomenal things to plants. This hitherto unknown capacity of colchicine is what promises so much in the plant world to come.
I suppose that nearly everyone who has read or heard of the experiments of Luther Burbank and other great horticulturists knows of their eternal quest for "accidents."
These accidents, known botanically as mutations, are the mistakes made by nature in reproducing plants. They may be distinguished from the results of cross or selective breeding chiefly by their abruptness.
A flower, for example, may have been producing single-petaled blossoms for countless generations, and then suddenly somewhere a lone member of that same flower family may burst forth into many-petaled bloom.
If that phenomenon is observed by someone who appreciates its significance, the seeds from this one plant are saved and a new strain of flowers makes its debut.
Needless to say, such accidents are extremely rare. Burbank and others have reared hundreds of thousands of plants in the hope that one worth-while mutation might occur in the lot. Fortunes have been made when their hopes have been realized.
Now comes colchicine. Reducing it to its simplest terms, it is a plant drug which causes botanical accidents. Anyone who applies it, I believe, can expect to produce these horticultural freaks, these "sports" which have caused so much excitement in the past.
Not all of them will be worth while, of course. Perhaps even the great majority of them will produce plants no one would want to perpetuate. The experiments are so new that the full capacities of colchicine are unknown.
The important thing is that the mutations can be caused by methods so simple that any amateur can apply them.
Before proceeding to a discussion of methods and a more detailed explanation of colchicine, it might be well to point out some of the results which inevitably will be sought through its application.
Already it has been used to produce much larger flowers of some types and to convert one sterile hybrid into a fertile plant.
Other possibilities are almost beyond enumeration. Suppose, for example, that colchicine can be used to convert annuals into perennials, to make short-stemmed plants into long-stemmed to provide botanical kaleidoscopes of color, to encourage blight and disease-resisting plants, to yield flowers of a sumptuousness beyond anything we now have.
Supposing it proves valuable for transforming innumerable wild berries and fruits and nuts into edible varieties. Consider its value if it increases the yield of our present grains and vegetables and fruits. Think of its potentialities for industry in, perhaps, the cellulose and plastics fields.
As a chemist who strayed more or less by accident into limited experiments in horticulture, my reaction to colchicine has been one of excitement, despite the fact that chemical miracles are becoming almost commonplace.
It is still so new in its botanical implications that few horticulturists seem to have heard of it.
That gives the amateur an even start in what are bound to be fascinating experiments. Moreover, it is a field in which amateur investigation is a great need.
TOMORROW: How to proceed.
TEST TUBE GARDEN
CLEVELAND PRESS 6/23/39
Describes Use of Magic Drug
The following article is the second of a series on chemical gardening by W.E. Bott, Lakewood chemist and amateur horticulturist. Mr. Bott has lectured before a number of garden clubs and other groups.
by W.E. BOTT
In the few square feet of garden at the rear of my home there is a zinnia such as, quite possible, no one ever has seen before. It has grown in most eccentric fashion, "somersaulting" through a complete loop and otherwise writing like a snake in its growth.
There is a snowball bush which this spring yielded blossoms as big as a dinner plate along with blooms of more conventional size. There are four o'clocks and marigolds and columbine and several other varieties of plants that are behaving as if they were bewitched.
I have been a little indiscriminate in my use of colchicine. Unlike the deliberate scientists, I have not -- in my own back yard, at least -- faced the necessity of exercising restraint.
I have yielded to the temptation of applying this powerful drug to almost every plant that comes to mind. The production of botanical "accidents" or "sports" has the same fascination for me that it should have for amateur gardeners everywhere.
For it is true that some amateurs, by experimenting in the manner I shall presently suggest, may be able to make important discoveries. Others may contribute much to the knowledge which today's research horticulturists so eagerly seek.
Or, if these goals are too pretentious, there is that of pure entertainment--the pleasure of working for horticultural miracles with a good chance of seeing them take place.
The zinnia of which I spoke was produced by the simplest of methods. The zinnia seeds first were started into active germination by soaking in water for a day. They then were transferred to a jelly glass partly filled a .2 per cent solution of colchicine and soaked in this for three hours more.
Finally I poured the colchicine into another glass through a tea-strainer, which caught the seeds. The seeds thereupon were washed off with fresh water and planted in the ground.
Bear in mind that this work must be done with extreme caution. Colchicine is a deadly poison which, even absorbed through the skin, can have dire effects. Care is necessary from the start. If some of the drug or solution accidentally is spilled on the hands it is wise to be prompt in washing it off.
Some of the zinnia seeds I planted did not grow at all. Some pushed up good stems through the ground, and then died. But I have a number still living, and several of these offer plain proof that there is something dynamic occurring in the plant world.
It is attested by their crinkled, roughened leaves, by the strange contortions of their stalks. They were, moreover, somewhat slow in their initial growth.
You will be correct in saying that this doesn't prove anything. But in another growing season, after I have collected seeds from my freaks if, indeed, they produce seeds; after I had used those seeds to grow new plants, I may have a flower that is a wonder in size or fertility or hardihood.
Therein is the adventure of working with colchicine. No one, not even the men most familiar with its use, can tell you specifically what it will do to a given plant. It is that unpredictable.
Obtaining colchicine, unfortunately, is perhaps the most bothersome aspect of the experiments. It cannot be purchases locally so far as I know. Furthermore, it is comparatively expensive if purchased in quantities of as much as an ounce, which costs $25 or more.
It can, however, be obtained in quarter and sometimes eighth ounces. Either of those quantities would provide enough solution for treating thousands of seeds. Some firms, I understand, are beginning to sell the solution in dollar vials, still providing enough to enable hundreds of experiments.
Two chemical firms which sell the colchicine powder are the Inland Alkaloid Co. at Tipton, Ind., and Merk & Co. at Rahway, N.J. A .2 per cent solution, which my experience indicates to be best for amateur use, is made by dissolving an eighth ounce of the colchicine powder in two quarts of ordinary water from the tap.
Spraying on Bloom
Before discussing possible variations in experiments ,let us investigate other methods of applying colchicine. The seed method is more conserving of the solution and hence more economical, but you can, if you wish, use a dime store atomizer to spray the solution directly onto flowers in bloom.
This spraying should take place when the stamen in the bloom first become sticky with pollen, and should be done in general three times a day for two days. Subsequently the seeds produced by the sprayed bloom should be collected and saved for the next planting season when, if the colchicine has taken effect, they will produce much the same result as if you had germinated and treated the seeds.
Another method is to tie a small vial of colchicine solution to the stem near a bud that has just begun to form. Use a coarse string as a wick. Place one end of the wick in the vial, wrap the other end several times loosely around the bud.
It is best to wet the wick with your solution after it is in place, since this will enable it to start drawing up the liquid immediately. Keep colchicine solution in the vial, and leave it in place from two to four days.
Or buds may be wrapped in cotton which is soaked three times a day for from two to four days with four to 12 drops of the solution, applied with a medicine dropper.
Save the Seeds
It is not likely that either the capillary wick method or the cotton heading method will immediately produce remarkable flowers. More probably they will cause the flower petals to become wrinkled, and they may even kill the bud.
If they are used on fertile plants, however, or if they cause a sterile plant to become fertile and produce seeds, save the seeds from the treated bloom for re-planting next year. The second year's growth will determine the permanent results.
In recommending the solution of colchicine and the length of treatments, I have, of course, endeavored to adhere to the middle path--the procedure I believe most likely to affect, but least likely to destroy, the plants.
I found, for example, that an .8 per cent solution of colchicine killed all but a very few lima and other bean seeds I planted.
It is easy to see how you may change the length of treatment or alter the strength of the solution to satisfy your own curiosity or needs.
Experience will tell you when your treatment has been too prolonged or too short, your solution too strong or too weak. In general, it might be said that plants slower to germinate and grow can withstand more severe exposures in this potent drug.
As a final point, keep records of the treatment and progress of each plant. Then, if you do produce something of beauty or rarity, you will know what procedure contributed to your success.
And, if your records and observations are accurate, you may contribute knowledge of permanent value to horticulture as a fine art.
TOMORROW: How to recognize the action of colchicine, and its scientific effects.
TEST TUBE GARDEN
CLEVELAND PRESS 6/24/39
Colchicine Speeds Chromosome Division, Arrests Cell Split
The following article is the last of a series on chemical gardening by W.E. Bott, Lakewood chemist and amateur horticulturist.
By W.E. BOTT
The mechanical workings of the drug colchicine in plants may be wondrous process in nature, but it is, after all, relatively simple and can be easily understood.
For the benefit of those not familiar with the reproduction sequence which here and elsewhere is exploited so remarkable in horticulture, I want to discuss it in some detail.
The basic mysteries still remain, of course. If anything, even the maximum understanding serves but to intensify the incredulity you feel at witnessing colchicine's power.
Why? Because down there, at the root of this whole new chapter in botany as it is at the root of all life, is the activity of the chromosomes, those infinitesimal governors of the growth of living things, whether human, animal or plant.
Perhaps nearly everyone knows how animals and plants grow by the division of cells, beginning with the egg or seed, which divides first into two cells. The two cells then grow and divide, with the process continuing microscopically until you have a full-bloom zinnia or tree or shrub.
Most of us know, too, that the cell or seed contains chromosomes which, seen under powerful microscopes, sometimes resemble chains of beads. In ways no one understands, these chromosomes determine heredity--what kind of plant you will have, how tall it will grow, the shape and color and size of the flowers it will produce. They vary in number, but usually in any one plant their number is the same. They divide along with the cells.
It is in the very beginning of this sequence that colchicine works. Horticultural scientists--the geneticists--have found that it temporarily stops the division of the cells, but does not stop the dividing of chromosomes. When the treatment is stopped, the cell, containing many more chromosomes than usual, resumes its normal division and growth.
What that implies is now apparent. With twice or four times as many chromosomes present, you would naturally expect a strengthening in the treated seed of the capacity to grow.
That is precisely what you get. Not without great limitations, to be sure. Far from all the capacities of the chromosomes seem to be affected, and it is reasonable to conjecture that there may be clashes and conflicts induced by the colchicine within those secret bodies which no man can analyze.
Strong Stems, Weak
You may find, for instance, that colchicine has emphasized poor features of certain plants, rather than good. Such was the case of my cosmos, which had stems thickened to three times normal--perhaps a desirable feature--but died because of sickly roots.
On the other hand, blossoms twice as large as normal already have been produced with colchicine, and the limits it sets upon the improvement of vegetables and flowers and fruits can scarcely be foreseen.
This harsh treatment of seeds or buds naturally retards their subsequent growth and has strange effects upon it. They must have time to recover. Stems sent up by treated seeds ordinarily lag well behind average untreated plants at the start.
Sometimes the shock is too great, and the seeds are killed. Sometimes they grow in weird shapes, with grossly distorted stems, with leaves crinkled and rough, with stalks noticeably swollen at the joints. These, in fact, are symptoms by which you may know that the colchicine has taken effect.
Pollen Is Affected
Or, if you have access to a microscope and wish to go into the investigation a little more deeply, you can tell by the pollen of treated flowers. If the colchicine treatment has registered, the pollen seeds under the microscope will be plainly much larger than those from comparative untreated blooms.
The shock inflicted by colchicine probably is the reason why you must collect the seeds from your treated plants and grow those seeds the following year before you know exactly what you have produced.
Logically, colchicine should be applied only when the seed cells or cells of the bud or bloom are actively dividing, since you wish to stop this division after it starts. That is why seeds must be germinated before the drug treatment will work.
This, of course, is a very diagrammatic outline of the action of colchicine, which has other effects. It is not necessary to discuss here. For amateur gardeners who desire more information about the drug, its effects, its source or its use, I am more than willing to answer inquiries directed to me at 16805 Lakewood Heights boulevard, Lakewood, if a stamped, addressed envelope is enclosed.
The foregoing barely indicates the possibilities these new explorations afford. Whether you soak germinated seeds in colchicine or spray the blossoms or soak the buds, some sort of a reaction is more the rule than the exception.
It may be failure; it may be only a satisfyingly robust flower or plant; it may be a rare development in horticulture that you will treasure the rest of your life.
In 1934 A.P. Dustin of Brussels first reported on its ability to arrest the division of cells.
The fact that chromosome division continues was established in this country by experiments working independently but more or less concurrently--Albert F. Blakeslee and Amos G. Avery, genetic experts of the Carnegie Institution, and B.R. Nebel and M.L. Ruttle of the New York State Experiment Station.
My borrowing of fundamental
information is with the express permission of these latter authorities,
although they cannot be held responsible for the explanations, conclusions
and predictions I have set forth.
LAKEWOOD COURIER January 5, 1933 Pg. 1
Funeral services for Fred M. Branch, 63, former Lakewood councilman and member of the sinking fund commission will be conducted by the Masonic lodge to which Mr. Branch belonged today at 2 p.m. at the Branch Kauffman Funeral Home, 16605 Detroit Avenue.
Mr. Branch died at his home Monday morning from a heart ailment from which he has suffered for several years. He established the first funeral home in Lakewood in 1915. In January, 1931, Dwight H. Kauffman joined the firm, which then became the Branch-Kauffman Funeral Home.
Mr. Branch was active in political and civic affairs in Lakewood, serving a term in the Lakewood council in 1924 and 1925, which was followed by his appointment to the sinking fund commission. When his term expired in December, he refused Mayor Kauffman's offer to reappoint him, giving ill health.
Mr. Branch was an active member of the Kiwanis Club and the Y.M.C.A. He was a Knights Templar and Shriner. He was a member of the Clifton Club, the Lakewood Chamber of Commerce and Lakewood Congregational Church.
He was born in York, Ohio, entering the furniture and undertaking business in Medina in 1897. In 1915 he sold his business interests there and moved to Lakewood.
is survived by his widow, Mrs. Lorena Rounds Branch, two daughters, Mrs.
Dorothy Walton, 1590 Onondaga Avenue and Mrs. Marion Kauffman, 16605 Detroit
Avenue, a brother, Merton E. Branch, 1445 Ridgewood Avenue and his father,
Levi Branch, of Long Beach, California.
CLAUDE P. BRIGGS
E GEORGE LINDSTROM'S UNPUBLISHED MATERIAL
"Youthful and rugged in personality, fair and just in his dealings with others, the spirit of Claude P. Briggs will long remain a vital one in this community." This statement was made by Superintendent Julius E. Warren shortly following the sudden death of Mr. Briggs, September 2, 1927, at his home, 1616 Belle avenue. Rev. Roy E. Bowers delivered the funeral service Labor Day at the Congregational church.
Mr. Briggs was born in Minere, Ill., and was principal at Rockford, Ill., for four years. He was recommended to the Lakewood position by Dean Judd of Chicago University. According to Superintendent R.G. Jones of Cleveland, Mr. Briggs was regarded as one of the two or three outstanding principals in the country.
was made leader of the Association of American Principals of Secondary
Schools, and was the organizer of the National Honor Society.
ARTHUR R. BULLOCK
E GEORGE LINDSTROM'S UNPUBLISHED MATERIAL
Mr. Arthur R. Bullock came to Cleveland in 1895 and built his laboratory in Lakewood in 1909, comprising several steel and concrete buildings on a large piece of property extending from Lake Avenue to Clifton Blvd. The business was operated as The Bullock Laboratories Mfg. Co., and other names more particularly appertaining to various branches of the business, and employed about twenty-five or thirty assistants and work people among which was Miss E.P. Smith, a chemical assistant who subsequently married Mr. Bullock.
Mr. Bullock was prominent in this section of Cleveland, being for a time vice-president of the Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Kiwannis, Lakewood Yacht, rifle and other organizations. While living here Mr. Bullock drew attention as a writer of scientific articles for various publications. It was of common knowledge here that he, for years, manufactured large amounts of various drug and chemical products at his Laboratory; and the long and costly court fight based upon a zoning ordinance passed after his business had been long established centered around the twenty-four hour operation of his Laboratory in what had in the later years become a residence neighborhood. The more than ten year legal battle culminated at the onset of the depression in the loss of his Laboratory property and his home, following which he and his wife left the city.
to the remarkable volume of scientific work which Mr. Bullock accomplished
during his residence in Cleveland of over a third of a century, it has
been greatly regretted her that the real estate zoning fight of which Mr.
Bullock was the innocent victim resulted in the loss to our city of a man
of such ability and of the business which he operated for so long.
BURTON, CHARLES G.
Dear Mrs. McIntyre
As you have been compiling information on Lakewood’s early history I thought perhaps a suggestion would be acceptable to you.
Perhaps in talking with the early residents of Lakewood you have interviewed Mr. Charles G. Burton who at one time held the position comparable with Mayor when Lakewood was a Hamlet. He served the City as a member of the first Council when Lakewood became a City. He has been associated with the progressive things for civic betterment of Lakewood during all these years. His foresight, clear thinking and careful management and parlimentarism resulted in many accomplishments for the immediate and permanent betterment of our city. Below are listed just a few:
Under his direction Belle Ave. was cut through. This was accomplished under great difficulty as part of this section was an old cemetery.
He is the "Father" of our present police and Fire Departments. It was his ordinance that established the Police Department. It was his ordinance which established the Fire Department. It was ordinance which established the Health Department. It was his ordinance which established the office of Health Commissioner and appointed Dr. Wallace J. Benner, City Health Commissioner which position Dr. Benner still capably holds.
Mr. Burton is a Charter Member of the Lakewood Chamber of Commerce. He is still active in its progress. It was through his efforts that organization enjoys its present quarters. Mr. Burton is very modest about the important part he has had in Lakewood's development, but I am sure he wil cooperate in an interview of reminiscences.
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 10)
Mr. F.A. Byar and his young wife, who was Julia Koch, came to East Rockport from Mecklingburg-Strelitz, Germany in 1868. He rented the McCreery 40 acre farm at the junction of Hilliard Road and Riverside Drive. He paid $321.00 a year for it including a dog house and outbuilding. Mr. Byar recalled that the McCreery's had owned the farm for more than a half century before, and that Mr. Byar raised his family of seven children, only one of whom now lives in Lakewood, Mr. Fred Byar, a successful carpenter who lives on Arthur Avenue south of Madison.
Fred J. Byar was the oldest of the seven children, and the only one not born in this country. He was not quite 2 years old when his parents sailed for this country. The rest of the children are scattered over the United States.
One of the things F.A. Byar recalled was the great flights of wild pigeons of 50 years age. He had seen flocks flying overhead, stretching as far as the eye could reach east and west. They always flew in a northerly direction. It is claimed now by naturalists that not one survivor of these flocks are to be found in the world, while in those days hunters on the banks of the rivers and lake knocked them over with poles. At one time they destroyed so many crops near Quebec that the Archbishop anathematized them. Mr. Byar told that he had hear so much about the great bags of birds shot by the hunters, that one day he took an antiquated musket and shot a mess for supper. Ordinarily, this pigeon (also called a passenger pigeon) flies too high to be reached by a gun shot, but they had a way of sweeping down to valleys like Rocky River. Their speed was so great that only the quickest shot was effective.
When Fred J. Byar was a boy, he went in swimming at Clark Worthen's beach, near where the present Kuntz home is located. His younger brother and Tony Bush, who lived at "Mansion House", a tenement where local help rented rooms at the corner of Belle and Detroit Avenue paddled about with logs while Fred and his pals swam to a beach a quarter of a mile east, which could not be reached from the shore side. A storm came up one day when they were doing this, and the log navigators were caught between the beaches, and it looked as if they would surely drown. Fred ran to to the cabin of Nigger Henry in the nearby woods and got the rope Mr. Worthen used to let his skiff down the banks with. The giant negro pulled the small boys up the 50 foot cliff, lying on his back and using his feet as a buffer, sticking out over the lake, so that the rope would not loosen the rocks and hit the small boys on the head. Forty years after, Henry passed F.J. Byars home on Mars Avenue and in his deep voice said to Mrs. Byar "You'd never had him, if it hadn't been for ma' saving his life; some day you'll bake me the biggest cherry pie you 'evah' baked," and she did. The giant had forgotten that it was not Fred's life but that of his brother he had saved.
Byar recalls when the water in Rocky River was pure, and the river was
full of fish, mostly mullet and suckers with an occasional bass and pike.
The mullet often weighed as much as 7 or 8 pounds, the sucker 1 pound.
One night the crowd went down to the river to see how many they could get,
and they sold the lot, peddling on the street, for $13, selling by the
fish, not by the pound. It was the general rule to pass around the fish
to one's neighbors free of cost.
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 12)
Not one of the pioneers who settled East Rockport were of better lineage than the Calkins, whose first local ancestor was Rev. Charles Calkins. He was not only a preacher, but also ran a flour mill at Rocky River in the old days, near where the bridge crosses at Detroit Street. The pioneer preacher came from Vermont, and his wife, whose maiden name was Mary Ann Gilman, came from Connecticut. Their son, Gilman Calkins, who was the progenitor of the generation in East Rockport, lived for many years in a house which was later torn down to make place for the Wilbur Bailey place on Detroit, corner of Elbur. The Yankee preacher traveled by canal to Buffalo, and by lake to Cleveland in 1832, settling in what was then Rockport. The original Calkins home was near Rocky River. The children were Gilman Calkins, Mrs. Mary Ann Atwell, Mrs. Ellen Howe, Mrs. Philander Winchester, and John Calkins who settled in California in 1849.
heredity of both father and mother was of the best Yankee stock, including
preachers and professional men, and at least one college president on the
Gilman side. So far as can be learned, the Calkins family all live in California
today (descendants) except Mr. Philip Winchester. Gilman Calkins had three
children. Samuel was editor of a Cincinnati paper in which he wrote an
expose of a local political ring, and was assaulted by a paid thug, dying
three years after from the effects of his injuries. Carl C. Calkins graduated
from Annapolis, and was the navigator of Admiral Dewey's flagship when
it entered Manila Bay during the Spanish American War. John Calkins, 2nd,
is the governor of the Federal Reserve Bank at San Francisco, Mary Calkins
who is now Mrs. Henry C. Brook, the wife of a well known newspaper man
of San Francisco. John C. Calkins, 2nd, lives at Berkeley, California.
CANFIELD, IRA E.
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 12)
One of the first trustees of Lakewood Hamlet was Ira E. Canfield, who was also a pioneer when the present city was a farming district. By profession, he was an engineer. He had retired with a fair competency when he bought 25 acres from William B. Smith in the middle 60's. His acreage was what is now the Cove allotment, and his dividing line from the Smith estate was what is now the center line of that street. He united with the pioneer from whom he purchased this property in laying out one of the three oldest cross streets in our town. His newly acquired estate extended from Detroit to the lake.
Mrs. Canfield was much beloved by all who knew her. Her health was always delicate, in marked contrast to her sturdy husband who lived to be nearly 90 years old.
While a skilled mechanic, he kept close watch on public affairs. Mrs. Canfield passed away many years before her husband.
One of the descendants, Edward Canfield, married Clara Hall, daughter of Curtis Hall, the pioneer, and a daughter Mrs. Robert Bailey, of Detroit and Elbur Avenue, survives. Clara Canfield, who died two years ago, married F.S. Tarbell, who resides in California. Mr. Tarbell was a widower whose whole family perished in the Johnstown flood. To the time of his death, Mr. Canfield lived with his daughter, Mrs. F.S. Tarbell, in the cottage a the corner of Whitnall Court and Detroit, opposite Cohassett. This latter home he purchased after selling the original tract, and laid out a driveway between his property and that of William Whitnall on the west side to the Rocky River Railway, to which, some 800 feet north, his property extended. Each built cottages on the shallow lots, and derived fine incomes from the properties.
Both were stubborn men, and they disagreed when it came to the selection of a name for the road-so short in length and breadth. Mr. Whitnall proposed to name it Whitnall Court and Mr. Canfield, Melrose Place. For many years, as they could not agree, a handsome sign on the west side of the court said "Whitnall Court" and an equally ornate one on the east side said "Melrose Place." The incident afforded much amusement at the time, as both gentlemen were quite efficient in the use of invectives. However, their dispute never got beyond the elocutionary point. Mr. Whitnall fell off a ladder some years later and broke his neck, and perhaps in honor to his memory, it was finally named Whitnall Court.
A story was told in regard to some of the oldest citizens of the time, showing how their pioneer regard for citizenship never waned. A local statesman was running for office who had done several small favors for an aged citizen, who felt grateful. During the heat of the campaign this aged citizen met the statesman and said, "I have seen Mr. Johnson (then 96 years old), Mr. Canfield (85 years old), Mr. Kinney (78 years old) and Mr. Parsons (75 years old) and we boys are all with you. You will get their vote next week."
Cox, who was the aged citizen, was 85 years old.
LEONARD P. CASE
ANNALS OF CLEVELAND (Newspaper Digest, 1864) Pg. 181, No. 1428
1428 - L. Dec. 9:4/3,4 - Leonard P. Case, Esq., was born July 20, 1784 in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania. He moved to Ohio in 1800 and was a resident of Cleveland for many years. He was stricken with a violent disease in 1810, which left him a cripple for the remainder of his life. Knowing that he would never be able to do physical labor to support himself, he decided to do so by his pen. His education was limited so far as book learning was concerned, there being no schools at that time. He learned to write and cipher however, while he was confined to his bed.
1806 he went to Warren where he struggled for a time with poverty, but
felt that here he would have a better chance for success. His sterling
character and common sense brought him friends who helped him in his writing
and furnished him books until he was admitted to the bar. He became collector
of non-resident taxes during the war of 1812 and in 1816 was appointed
cashier of the Commercial bank of Lake Erie. Although a cripple and a constant
sufferer, he survived all of the original directors and officers of this
bank and by early and judicious investment in real estate, he became one
of the richest men in Northern Ohio. He leaves one son, two brothers and
When Cleveland was a
town of 40 homes, James Case migrated from Ashville, Massachusetts, with
his family. Driving west from the Cuyahoga, driving his yoke of oxen, in
search of good soil, he finally located in Dover. In his trip through the
woods, his son Osborne Case said that his father did not see a single habitation
between the Cuyahoga River and Rocky River, (the James Nicholson home was
built about this time). Osborne Case was the pioneer of the Case family
in East Rockport, where he settled on the east side of the river near the
southern boundary in the deep woods in 1832, buying a fertile 240 acreage
at $4.00 an acre. In those days rivalry among men centered around who could
get the most work done in one day. He had to struggle hard to pay for the
farm, and finally had to sell off, piece by piece, 130 acres before he
could safely own, free from encumbrances, the rest. He told his son Mr.
Edward Case who lives at 1267 Manor Park, that he had to sell the last
130 acres because he could not raise a $20.00 bill. The Cases were of fine
old Yankee stock, and had a direct ancestor who commanded a privateer during
the Revolutionary War. They had oxen for transportation and the nearest
grist mill was at Elyria, 20 miles west, and Painesville 30 miles east.
It took 2 full days either way to take the grist to the mill and return.
Whenever the family needed any salt, they had to go to Painesville for
it. When a boy, Osborne Case, when the family needed any medicine, packed
on his back garden truck and eggs, and walked 12 miles away, sold the stuff,
bought the medicine and walked back again. Some times he did not get over
a shilling for his 24 mile walk. Brought up in such a school of hardship,
it is little wonder that he was finally able to pay for the 110 of the
original 240 he bought, raise and educate his family, and become a well
to do citizen. His family were members of the Swedenborgian Church and
all the children attended the one story brick school house which stood
on the site of the present Board of Education, Mr. Edward Case of Manor
Park Avenue is the sole survivor of the family residing in Lakewood, and
he recalled the earliest teachers dating from about 1860. These included
Prof. Goodwin, Prof. and Rev. Wilbur Day, Mrs. and Mrs. Glasier, and Prof.
Merrill and Prof. Means. Rays Practical Arithmetic was used, and there
were "spell downs." There was much wonderment when algebra was introduced.
"Ante-ante over" was the principle game, and a home made soccer ball was
used. There was a low attic over the one story school room, and there was
no floor over the joists. It was considered a dare devil scheme to climb
the ladder at recess time and to crawl around in the darkness. One day
a long legged girl of a well known family was trying this special thrill
when she slipped and a long leg protruded through the plaster into the
school room. The mile or more walk to school both ways, did not bother
the young Cases, and the roads were awful in those days. It was necessary
to wear high boots to get there at all. It was not unusual to have frozen
ears and frosted faces...When asked why the pioneers did not use horses
when they took the long trips to Painesville for salt, he said he did not
think any one had a horse. Oxen were the sole means of transportation,
as far as he heard in the time of his grandfather. The roads were only
trails through the forest, and Indians were often met. When his father
bought the 240 acres, the Indians were a memory only, though the home was
built in a forest as deep as that of the time when the savages ruled.
COOPER, THEODORE ARTHUR
HISTORY OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY AND CLEVELAND
W.R. COATES -- Volume II, Pg. 226-227, 228
Theodore Arthur Cooper is one of the representative men of the Cleveland district, president of the Midwest Savings and Loan Company of Lakewood, and executive head of the legal department of the Tropical Oil Company of Cleveland. He is descended from the old Cooper family of Cooper's Plains, Steuben county, New York, a locality named in honor of the family. He was born on February 18, 1884, in the old Cooper residence which was built over a century ago and is now a landmark, but still used for residential purposes.
Mr. Cooper was one of the founders of the Midwest Savings and Loan Company of Lakewood, and has been its president from the time of its organization and incorporation. He is also president of the Old Northwest Mortgage Company of Lakewood. Mr. Cooper is active in the civic and social affairs of Lakewood, giving his support to all movements having for their object the welfare of the city. He served as president of the Lakewood Chamber of Commerce in 1920-21, he is president of Western Reserve Society, Sons of the American Revolution, a member of Lakewood Lodge No. 601, Free and Accepted Masons, and he and his wife are members of the Church of the Ascension (Episcopal) of Lakewood, he being a vestryman of the same.
On October 23, 1909, Mr. Cooper was united in marriage with Margaret Leigh Eberly, who was born at Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, the daughter of Daniel W. and Martha (Hindley) Eberly.
Mr. and Mrs. Cooper a daughter and son have been born; Helen Eberly, born
February 14, 1912, and Arthur Erwin, born March 17, 1916.
NELSON C. COTABISH
E. GEORGE LINDSTROM'S UNPUBLISHED MATERIAL
Nelson C. Cotabish died July 17, 1945, at the age of 74, was first mayor of the City of Lakewood--and last mayor of the Village of Lakewood. He served as chief executive in 1910 and 1911. The village incorporated as a city on February 11, 1911 after the 1910 census showed that the population had reached 15,181. State law required a minimum of 5,000 before villages could aspire to status as cities. At the previous census, in 1900, Lakewood had only 3,358 inhabitants.
However it was not as mayor that Mr. Cotabish made his most important and most enduring contribution to Lakewood. His term as chief executive and a term in council--1906-07--plus in between years of active interest in public affairs were constructive in themselves and earned him respect of fellow citizens but, more than that, they served as a basis for formulating the pattern of development that was to make Lakewood outstanding among cities of it's type.
Mr. Cotabish was not an individualist nor is Lakewood as we know it the result of the ideas or the efforts of any single man--or any dozen men. But Mr. Cotabish did possess foresight, perseverance and the ability to organize. In 1914 Clayton W. Tyler was elected mayor. Mr. Cotabish was appointed director of public works. E. A. Fisher became city engineer. The next four years saw foundations laid for a growth that was beyond the imagination of the most enthusiastic citizen. From 15,181 in 1910 Lakewood was to reach 41,373 in 1920--and a peak of 70,509 by 1930.
Under Lakewood's present charter the mayor is director of public works. In 1914 the director was a part time official at the decidedly nominal salary of $700. He had a number of responsibilities but by far the most important was preparing for growth and expansion--shaping the city that Lakewood was to become within a few years. The day was ahead when home building in Lakewood would reach $1,000,000 a month, when public improvements would reach a $2,000,000 yearly mark.
There were something over 400 acres of farm land south of Madison avenue which, in time, was to be the homes of almost 25,000 people. There were streets to be laid out--not in accordance with the whims of individual owners or promoters but in line with a broad orderly policy. Restrictions had to be taken into consideration--foundations for zoning which came later. Add to this the things that were happening elsewhere in Lakewood and breadth of Mr. Cotabish's responsibilities can be imagined.
Mr. Cotabish was one of the group which made possible the building of the Lakewood Masonic temple at Detroit and Andrews. Over the years his business interests were many and varied--almost all of them in Lakewood. At the time of his death he was president of the First Federal Savings and Loan association of Lakewood. But space requires that this article be confined to Mr. Cotabish's public career.
In January 1941 there was a vacancy on the board of Lakewood hospital. Mayor Kauffman asked Mr. Cotabish to serve. Despite ill health he accepted and was a member at the time of his death.
On the grounds of his home Mr. Cotabish took delight in what he called his "suburban farm." It was a familiar sight to see him busy among the rows of tomato plants, cornstalks and other garden plants.
In 1890 Mr. Cotabish entered the employ of the National Carbon Co., where he worked 35 years, becoming sales manager. In 1925 he gave up active participation in business and devoted his time to the management of his properties.
Mr. Cotabish also was a banker. He was president of the old People's Bank many years. Most recently he was president of the First Federal Savings & Loan Association.
In his business days Mr. Cotabish was a member of the Lakewood Chamber of Commerce and the West Side Chamber of Industry. He was a former treasurer of the Lakewood Yacht Club. He was also a member of the Lakewood City Hospital board.
Always an active Mason, Mr. Cotabish was among those who built the Masonic Temple at Andrews and Detroit Avenues, Lakewood. He was former treasurer of the Lakewood Masonic Temple Co.
In his younger days Mr. Cotabish was a member of the Lakewood Tennis Club and was one of the most ardent players. He also was an enthusiastic fisherman. He was a member of the Au Sable Trout Club in Michigan and the Quinnebeg Fishing Club.
the development of his real estate holdings Mr. Cotabish gave Cohasset
Avenue its name because he like the quaint town of that name near Boston.
He built his house of cobblestones because of houses that construction
in the Massachusetts town.
COTABISH, MRS. SABINA
CLEVELAND PLAIN DEALER -- May 8, 1940
Mrs. Sabina Cotabish, 97, mother of Nelson C. Cotabish, former mayor of Lakewood, died at noon yesterday at her home, 1450 Waterbury Road, Lakewood.
Mrs. Cotabish was a member of an early Bohemian family which settled in Cleveland in the 1850's. She was the wife of the late Matthew Cotabish.
Another son is Joseph R. Cotabish, a vice president of the Cleveland Trust Company.
Besides her sons, Mrs.
Cotabish is survived by five daughters, Nellie, Rose, Mary, Ann and Mrs.
F.H. McDowell, and another son, Matthew L. Cotabish.
THE COUTANT FAMILY
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 13)
There was in the middle 60's a small frame school house which stood at the point now the north-west corner of West 117th Street. The small boys from that school used to go to the well of sparkling spring water on the Coutant place two at a time, for one boy could not carry a pail full of water. Miss Mary Alger, then 18 years old, was the teacher. The well was under cover of the back porch, and not the old oaken bucket affair, for Benjamin Coutant was a mechanical genius and had the latest improvements in those days.
He bought in East Rockport some 20 acres fronting on Detroit and Madison Avenue. Later he laid out and built the home which still stands on the southwest corner of the street which bears his name, and Detroit Street. It was much ornamented with the gingerbread decoration which was in vogue at that time.
Among those still living who attended the old school house are, Mrs. C.A. Townsend, only child of Henry Beach, Edwin and James Newman, Angeline Scoville, Sanderson and Ada Scoville Preslan, all living in Lakewood. Years after Mr. Irving Norris made an excellent chicken coop out of the school house, and still later a front was built on to it and the structure was used as a kitchen until a couple of years when the building, which then stood behind the brick building at the Detroit corner, was torn down.
Benjamin Coutant was not a farmer. He came from a Quaker family in the farming district of Pennsylvania. Yet he was born mechanic. No one could beat him at checkers or chess. He was a wonderful swimmer, his only rival being Mr. A.B. Allen, a much younger man. He was a patternmaker by trade-one of the best in Cleveland and his farming was all on the side. He was 6 feet tall and weighed over 200 pounds. Every one called him "Uncle Ben".
Coutant was much loved by the young people. She was Miss Sarah Townsend,
before her marriage. Oscar Townsend was a prominent railroad manager more
than a generation ago. Another brother was Circuit Judge Hosea Townsend.
Mr. C.A. Townsend, of Lakewood is a nephew of Mrs. Coutant, and J.F. Townsend,
a Pittsburgh Steel magnate, is another nephew. Their children died young,
and Mr. Coutant adopted a daughter Emma, who married William Miller and
lives at Greenwich, Ohio. Mrs. Coutant adopted a daughter Lula, who married
a Mr. Baer and lives in Akron. Mr. Coutant died about 20 years ago at Greenwich,
Ohio, over 80 years of age. His wife died several years before. His old
Quaker mother lived to be 100 years old.
Mrs. Alice G. Cowan, 87, descendant of Lakewood's "aristocracy" of pioneers, poet, philologist, and student of the languages, died quietly in her home on East 30th Street, just around the corner from Superior Avenue last Saturday evening, August 23, 1930, and was buried Tuesday afternoon in Lake View cemetery after services in Wade Memorial Chapel.
Mrs. Cowan was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Colahan, who settled in Lakewood in the early days, a niece of Ezra Nicholson and a stepniece of Mrs. Adam Wagar, both of them early pioneers of this city.
Mrs. Cowan had lived quietly with Mrs. Clara B. Oakford in the East 30th Street home for the last six years, chafing at a weakening body but enjoying her poetry, her reading, and a few quiet friends.
Soon after the Civil War she married Rev. Enoch C. Cowan, veteran of the war, and an Episcopalian rector. She spent many years in the south and southwest where Rev. Mr. Cowan had charges. After his death in the late '80s, she became an Episcopalian deaconess and went to Mexico, where she lived until the 1914 revolution drove her home.
A sewing basket filled with yellowed newspaper clippings and slim pamphlets which she treasured tells the story of her years there, where she became well known for her translations of the Spanish poets and authors, and her own poetry.
In her first years in Mexico, which she loved and longed for for till the day of her death, she taught Spanish and English in the church schools and when she ceased her work as deaconess, she became an English teacher for some of the first families of Mexico, including that of ex-President Diaz.
In the 1914 revolution she was forced to return to the states, and came back to Cleveland where she lived with Miss Effie Wagar, until the latter's death about six years ago, in the old Wagar home at the corner of Detroit Avenue and Warren road, Lakewood.
Then she moved to the home of Mrs. Oakford, at 1515 East 30th Street, where she died. She had met Mrs. Oakford by chance in an old book stall when she first returned to Cleveland.
Mrs. Cowan had a passion for books, particularly those in French, German or Spanish, and visited Public Library several times a week until about six months ago. After that, Mrs. Oakford came down for her books.
Miss Edith Wirt, who is in charge of the foreign shelves of the library, recalled her.
"She knew every grammar or reader we possessed in French, German or Spanish," Miss Wirt said. "Every time a new one arrived she was the first to get it to see if it might contain some fine point of grammar she didn't know."
"It is hard to describe her. She was the most 'appetizing' old person I have ever known and had a puckish sense of humor. She used to come in and talk with the young men who came to read Spanish books. They forgot her age when she talked to them. When she stopped coming they used to ask me frequently what had become of her."
kept diaries faithfully and filled them with quotations, from foreign authors
in their own tongue, with snatches of Emerson, Conrad, Nietzsche, and amazing
comments of her own current events.
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK
Alice Cowan, 87, a descendant of Lakewood "Aristocracy" of pioneers, poetess
and student of languages, dies at her home on East 30t and was buried in
Lake View Cemetery. She was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Colahan,
who settled in Lakewood in the early days and a niece of Ezra Nicholson,
and a step-niece of Mrs. Adam Wagar. Soon after the Civil War she married
Rev. Enoch C. Cowan, and Episcopalian minister, and spent many days in
the south and southwest where he had charges. She taught Spanish and she
became an English teacher in some of the best families in Mexico, including
ex-president Diaz. She was forced to return to the United States in the
1914 Revolution and lived with Miss Effie Wagar until the latters death
at the Old Wagar home, Detroit and Warren Road.
CRAWFORD, RUSSELL BOYD M.D.
HISTORY OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY AND CLEVELAND
W.R. COATES -- Volume III, Pg. 80
Russell Boyd Crawford, M.D., one of the representative physicians and surgeons of the younger generation in Cuyahoga County, established in successful practice in the city of Lakewood, was born at Coshocton, Ohio, February 7, 1891, and is a son of Samuel L. and Carvetta (Boyd) Crawford, both natives of Coshocton County. James Bothwell Crawford, grandfather of the doctor, was a native of Ireland, and was numbered among the early settlers in Coshocton County, where he became a successful farmer, and where he passed the remainder of his life. Robert Boyd, maternal grandfather of Dr. Crawford, was of Irish lineage and a descendant of Albert Boyd, who came to the United States and became a pioneer of Coshocton County, he having been the founder of the Boyd family which has been in Ohio for seven successive generations. The parents of Dr. Crawford are still residents of Coshocton County.
Dr. Crawford was graduated from the Coshocton High School as a member of the class of 1910, and, after teaching school one year, he was for two years a student in Wooster University. Thereafter he was for a time a student in the medical department of Ohio State University, and completed his professional course in the medical department of Northwestern University in Chicago, where he was graduated as a member of the class of 1917, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. While in Chicago he further fortified himself through the clinical experience gained while he was serving as an interne in the People's Hospital. In the year of his graduation Dr. Crawford entered into the practice of his profession at Jeromesville, Ashland County, Ohio, but in the following year he found a wider sphere of service in connection with American participation in the World War. He was commissioned a lieutenant in the Medical Corps of the United States Army, and was stationed at Chickamauga Park, Georgia, at the time when the signing of the armistice brought the war to a close, and continued in service until he received his honorable discharge and was mustered out, January 14, 1919. On the first of the following month he opened an office at Lakewood. He is a member of the staff of Lakewood Hospital, and is a member of the Cleveland Academy of Medicine, the Ohio State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. In the Masonic fraternity the Doctor is affiliated with Clifton Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and Cunningham Chapter, Royal Arch Masons.
Crawford wedded Miss Clela May Gordon, daughter of David O. Gordon, of
Ashland, Ohio, and the two children of this union are Robert Gordon and
Mary Irene, aged, respectively eight and three years.
CROSS, CLEAVELAND R.
HISTORY OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY AND CLEVELAND
W.R. COATES -- Volume II, Pg. 42-44
Cleaveland R. Cross, member of the law firm of Wilkin, Cross and Daoust, has been engaged in practice at Cleveland for fifteen year, and in that time has identified himself actively with an unusual program of interests, professional, business, civic and social.
Mr. Cross was born May 19, 1882, in the city of Denver, Colorado, son of Rev. Roselle Theodore and Emma (Bridgmen) Cross.
Cleaveland R. Cross spent his boyhood in various cities where his father was in the ministry, and attended grammar schools at Denver, at Minneapolis, the high school at York, Nebraska, and graduated from Oberlin College in 1903. He spent half a year succeeding that in special study at Washington, D.C., and in post graduate work in economics at the University of Wisconsin. In 1907 he graduated from the Law School of Western Reserve University. While at Western Reserve Mr. Cross tutored in the university school. In college he was active in inter-collegiate debating and served as president of the Ohio Inter-Collegiate Debating Association.
Upon his admission to the Ohio bar in 1907 he became a law clerk in the office of J.D. Fackler of Cleveland, and subsequently was associated in practice with the firm Hitchcock, Morgan and Fackler. In 1915 he became a member of the firm Wilkin, Cross and Daoust, a firm of the very highest standing in Cleveland law circles.
His extensive law business accounts for only a portion of his interests and activities. During the World war he was chairman of the Legal Advisory Board of District No. 1, a district embracing all of Cuyahoga County outside of the City of Cleveland west of the river. He was also Lakewood chairman of several liberty bond campaigns. In politics he has interested himself primarily for the cause of good government. During the pre-convention campaign of 1920 he was a member of the Leonard Wood Executive County Committee, and since that year has been a member of the County Executive Committee, and for 1920-21 was chairman of the Lakewood Republican Club. He was a alternate delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1920. He is president of the Lakewood Public Hospital, a member of the Community Fund Council and a trustee of the Cleveland Welfare Federation. A loyal alumnus of Oberlin, he was made a member of the special committee appointed in 1920 by the college alumni to reorganize the national alumni body and has since been first vice president and president of the new organization. He is a member of the Cuyahoga County, Ohio State and American Bar associations. He also belongs to the John Hay Chapter of the Phi Alpha Delta law fraternity, and is a member of the Cleveland and Lakewood Chamber of Commerce and the West Side Chamber of Industry.
Mr. Cross helped organize and is president of the Colonial Savings and Loan Company of Lakewood, and in 1921 was president of the Cuyahoga County Building and Loan League. He is also a member of the executive committee of the Ohio State Association of Savings and Loan Companies. He is a director of the Land Title Abstract and Trust Company, and is an officer in several other corporations.
During the year 1923 Mr. Cross was president of the Cleveland Municipal Research Bureau and for several years has been a member of the Lakewood Board of Education and chairman of its finance committee. From these connections he has become interested in questions of taxation and public finance and has been active in the support of various measures to secure adequate school revenues and reform in the Ohio system of taxation. He is also chairman of the taxation committee of the Cleveland Citizens' League.
November 11, 1908, Mr. Cross married Miss Ruth Savage, daughter of Frederick J. and Caroline M. Savage of Moline, Illinois. They have a son and a daughter, Robert Alden, born May 14, 1914; and Caroline Murdock, born December 12, 1918.
and Mrs. Cross are members of the Lakewood Congregational Church. He is
a member of the board of trustees and was chairman of that board and also
the building committee during the erection of what is said to be one of
the most beautiful church edifices in the state. His club membership comprises
the University, Union, City, Clifton and Westwood Country, and he also
a member of the Sons of American Revolution, of Lakewood Lodge No. 601,
Free and Accepted Masons, Cunningham Chapter No., 187, Royal Arch Masons,
and Lakewood Lodge of Elks.
ROBERT G. CURREN
Robert G. Curren, law director of Lakewood for 19 years until he retired December 19, 1938, died of arthritis March 2, 1941, at his home, 1490 Cohasset Avenue, after a long illness. He was 723.
Known as an extremely shrewd law director, Mr. Curren served Lakewood in that capacity in two periods. The first began when the community adopted its charter creating the law director post on January 1, 1914, and ended in 1924, when the late Edward A. Wiegand became mayor, Mr. Curren having been a leader of the opposition. The second period began in 1929, when Mayor Wiegand recognized his ability and reappointed him.
Mayor Amos I. Kauffman, who succeeded Mayor Wiegand and under whom Mr. Curren served until his retirement, praised his service to the city. "As far as municipal law was concerned, he had few equals and no peers," Mayor Kauffman said.
Born in Kittanning, Pennsylvania, Mr. Curren came to Cleveland when he was 18. For 20 years he was in the employ of the Wells, Fargo & Co.
He studied law under Howard A. Couse and began his practice in general law after he was admitted to the Ohio bar in 1904. He moved to Lakewood a year later and in 1910 and 1911 was secretary of the Lakewood Board of Education.
Becoming active in the election of 1913 when the Lakewood charter was approved, Mr. Curren was aligned with Clayton W. Tyler, who had been a councilman. On his election as Mayor Tyler gave Mr. Curren the law director appointment.
One of Mr. Curren's early accomplishments was the drafting of the original Lakewood franchise with the Cleveland Railway Co., which has been described as the most ironclad agreement ever entered into by pubic utility and a municipality.
Under it Lakewood still has 5-cent fare within its city limits. The franchise was amended in 1919 to allow the railway to raise the fare to equal that charged in Cleveland for transportation between Lakewood and Cleveland, this being done in exchange for a promise of minimum service.
In 1925 Mr. Curren became associated in law partnership with Mr. Tyler, who paid tribute to him as a most tireless worker and a friend who never lost his even temper. Mr. Curren for many years had his office in the Leader Building.
When Mr. Curren was reappointed law director by Mayor Wiegand in 1929, the mayor announced the selection was made over 20 attorneys whose names were suggested.
Arthritis caused Curren's retirement in 1939 from his partnership as well as from the law directorship. He continued as president of the Lakewood Savings & Loan Co., however, until his death.
He was a member of Detroit Avenue Methodist Church and Lakewood Masonic Lodge. His wife, Mrs. Martha Latimer Curren, whom he married in Warren in 1892, died in 1937. A daughter, Edith L. Curren, who had been principal of Hayes School in Lakewood, had died the previous year.
Surviving are another daughter Mrs. Nancy Curren Wright of Lakewood, and two grandsons, Bruce Robert Wright, a student at the University of Pennsylvania, and Richard Curren Wright, a pupil at Lakewood High School.
Services were at Detroit Avenue Methodist Church, Detroit and Winchester Avenues, Lakewood, at 2:30 p.m. March 5, 1941, with the pastor, Rev. Melvin C. Hunt, officiating. Burial was in Riverside Cemetery.
President Herbert A. Spring of the Cleveland Bar Association yesterday appointed a committee consisting of Clayton W. Tyler, Charles M. Buss, Howard A. Couse, Charles A. Higley and William H. Fahrenback to represent the association at the funeral.
Howard A. Couse, Judges Mathias J. Walther and Henry J. Williams of Lakewood Municipal Court, Charles A. Niman, Robert N. Morgan, Appellate Judge Daniel E. Morgan, Alfred Clum, Peter Witt, Clayton W. Tyler, Robert L. Beck, Charles M. Buss, Chief Justice Homer G. Powell of Common Pleas Court, Mayor Amos I. Kauffman of Lakewood, John W. Inches, Lakewood City Engineer Edward A. Fisher, Municipal Court Prosecutor Carl B. Webster of Lakewood and Police Chief Leonard B. Miller of Lakewood.
Clyde A. Miller, Walter Blouch, Russell Clapper, Harland J. Dickerson, Clarence C. Brown and William Kapp.
The late Robert G. Curren, Lakewood’s law director for 19 years, was eulogized by the Lakewood City Council for his public service a well as his character as a citizen.
Councilman William H. Fahrenbach's suggestion that the former official's picture be hung in the Council chamber was approved.
In an editorial it was stated that Robert G. Curren did much for the development of modern Lakewood. In his two terms as law director of that community he helped it to advance to its present high place in the ranks of American municipalities.
Curren first served as law director from 1914 when the city's charter was adopted--an accomplishment in which he played a leading part--until 1924. He was recalled to that post in 1929 by Mayor Wiegand. It is significant that he won the place over 20 competitors because of his recognized ability. Among his achievements was the drafting of the original Lakewood franchise with the Cleveland Railway Co. which was described as the most ironclad agreement ever negotiated between a municipality and a public utility.
qualities as a public official and as a friend and associate established
for him a high place in his community.
DANIELS, WILLIAM RICHARD
HISTORY OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY AND CLEVELAND
W.R. COATES -- Volume II, Pg. 232-233
One of the prominent citizens and progressive business men of Lakewood is William R. Daniels, funeral director. He was born on his father's farm at Guy's Mills, Crawford County, Pennsylvania, on August 1, 1891, the son of Frank and Evaline (Hanna) Daniels.
Frank Daniels was born on the same farm as was his son, on February 20, 1857, the son of Howard I. Daniels, a substantial farmer and stockraiser of Crawford County, Pennsylvania. His wife, Evaline, was born on the Hanna farm, not far from the Daniels farm, the daughter of Abraham Hanna, a prosperous farmer and a Civil War veteran. The parents of William R. are still living on the old homestead.
William R. Daniels was reared on the farm and acquired his educational training in the neighborhood schools, including high school. He left the farm in 1910 and came to Lakewood in search of profitable employment, which he found as driver on a milk route, later as route man for a laundry company, and still later as collector for a furniture store; and while so employed he was dreaming and planning for his life work as an undertaker at the head of his own establishment, and while with the furniture store he mastered the rudiments of the profession. In 1913 he received his state license as embalmer and entered business in a modest way, but it was not long until his business expanded and in a few years had grown into the leading one in that line in Lakewood, and it became necessary that it be given a suitable and permanent home. In 1916 Mr. Daniels purchased the old Swift home at 15806 Detroit Avenue, also the adjoining vacant lot, and broke ground for building along suitable and adequate lines to properly house his entire establishment under one roof, which, at completion, became one of the business show-places along Detroit Avenue, and a monument to the genius, thrift and enterprise of its owner. This building, known as the "William Daniels Funeral Home", is of brick, three stories in height, with an enameled tile front. The street entrance leads into the reception parlor, adjoining which is the spacious chapel with a seating capacity of 200 people; then come the private rooms for the retirement of the mourners, all of which rooms are finished in oak with hardwood floors. In the rear of all is located the garage, which houses the complete automobile equipment for every use and emergency. On the ground floor of the east side of building is located the quarters of the Mid-West Savings and Loan Company; the second floor is given up to office suites, while the Churchill School of Business occupies the entire third floor, the building being equipped with a modern steam heating plant.
Aside from business as funeral director Mr. Daniels is identified with several other important concerns, he being a member of the boards of directors of the Mid-West Savings and Loan Company, the Guarantee Discount Company, and president of the Lakewood Finance Company. He is a past president of Lakewood Retail Merchants' Board and a member of Lakewood Chamber of Commerce.
He is a member of the Ohio State Association of Licensed Embalmers; a member of Lakewood Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Cunningham Chapter, a charter member of Holy Grail Commandery, Knights Templar, a member of Al Koran Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and of Valley of Cleveland, Lake Erie Consistory, Scottish Rite (thirty-second degree). He is a member of Lakewood Lodge of Elks, of Lakewood Lodge of Independent order of Odd Fellows, of the Royal Arcanum, of the Independent Order of Foresters, and of the Modern Woodmen of the World. He is a two-year director of Lakewood Kiwanis Club, a life member of Lakewood Yacht Club, and a member of the official board of Lakewood Methodist Episcopal Church.
The story of the progress and success of Mr. Daniels stamps him as a man of more than ordinary capacity and personality, and his career is full of accomplishment, which should serve as an incentive to any young man just arrived at the time of life when he must choose a vocation.
Daniels married Miss Sue Elma Pyle, of Uniontown, Pennsylvania.
FLAVIUS J. DEAN
E.G. LINDSTROM'S UNPUBLISHED MATERIAL
(From Lakewood Post, Sept. 23, 1926)
Born ninety years ago in a log cabin facing what is now Detroit Road, Rocky River, Flavius J. Dean, 122 Andrews Avenue, comes of a family which was among the earliest settlers of Rockport township.
Still in good health, and possessing remarkable mental powers despite the handicap of deafness and defective vision, this grand old man on Tuesday unfolded to the writer an extremely interesting history of the Dean family in connection with Cuyahoga county.
Tracing back through decade after decade, he unfolded a story of the days when backwoods paths were the only penetration through virgin wilderness west of Rocky River, and the first farmers created clearings in which sprang up the first wheat, fruit and garden products to come from that district.
Weller Dean, father of Flavius, came to Rocky River in 1813 from Lowellville, New York. On the other side of the family appears a daughter of a Puritan family from West Tutbridge, Massachusetts, who came here in 1815 to marry the elder Dean.
Together they bought from Charles H. Olmstead of Connecticut, 160 acres of land almost two miles west of Rocky River, the price being $18 an acre. Here was erected the Dean Family homestead, a log cabin which stood just west of what is now Lakewood Cemetery for almost a hundred years. In the cabin a family of ten hardy pioneers were raised, only four of whom are now living. Flavius was born on October 23, 1836.
A determination to get an education obsessed the boy, and in the face of difficulties that would have stopped 99 out of 100, he went through grammar and high school and afterward attended business college.
It was nearly eleven miles from the Dean home to the nearest school, the old Clinton school near the public square, yet he trudged the long trail to learning and back.
From there he went to high school on the southeast corner of what is now Prospect Avenue and East 9th Street, and there made a friendship with John D. Rockefeller that has lasted almost 75 years.
Some of Mr. Dean's favorite reminiscences concern his high school days, with the future oil king, Mark Hanna, and others who were later to achieve fame as his classmates.
Since they finished school in 1854, Mr. Rockefeller and Mr. Dean have always corresponded. Only a year ago, when the press of the country announced the sickness of his old chum, Mr. Dean wrote to ask him if he was really as ill as indicated.
A telegram of reassurance came back immediately to the effect that the oil magnate was on the road to health again.
"Many's the day," said Mr. Dean, "That John and I helped Mark Hanna with his studies. Mark was always slipping out of the classroom window down to the river, where his father conducted business."
"Those were busy days," he continued. "John took nine studies, and I had eleven. I was on the recitation bench from nine in the morning till late in the afternoon, then had the long trudge home to study for the next day's lessons."
Fate stepped into Mr. Dean's life soon after he left school. One afternoon, he took a load of cordwood to the Rockefeller home, and his former classmate asked him to come into the oil business with him. At that time John D. was embarking on the career that made him a multi-millionaire. When his parents advised against the move, young Dean took their advice, and continued to work on the farm.
He remembered when he first became old enough to go with his father to market, that there were only 11 buildings between his home and Waverly Street, now the city limits. Three of these were taverns.
Getting a load of produce into town in those days was real labor. A little wooden ferry was the only means of conveyance across Rocky River, and a pontoon bridge was the lone way to cross the Cuyahoga. Between the two streams lay seven miles of rough dirt road, which was later improved by being surfaced with planks. A double team cost 40 cents in tolls to make the trip.
Around 1856, the first bridge to span Rocky River was built. It was a ramshackle sort of structure; square logs being driven into the bed of the stream at a ford, and heavy stones being thrown between the logs for ballast. This acted too much as a dam, and flood waters one spring washed it down the river. In 1860, a plank bridge, covered, was thrown across and this lasted more than 20 years.
Detroit Road, or North Ridge, was in those days only a road to a sawmill which was located near what is now Stop 9 of the Lake Shore Electric line. Center Ridge, then called South Ridge, was the principal road through the woods to Dover, where another village was in the making.
Mr. Dean was the first to introduce to the mainland the culture of grapes. He brought cuttings from Kelley's Island, and despite the belief that they would not thrive here, started what was since developed into an industry for farmers in this part of the country.
At the outbreak of the Civil War Mr. Dean was immediately drafted. He ascribes this to the fact that his family had many bitter political enemies, because they were strongly Democratic. He was then running the farm of 160 acres, and hired a substitute to take his place in the regiment. This began a series of episodes which were based around political enmity, during which time he was forced to hire another substitute for a period of three years, for $600, and during which he was arrested by mistake as a deserter, ordered to be court martialed, and later acquitted.
During his 90 years he has never swerved in his political faith. He has voted for every Democratic candidate for president since Andrew Jackson.
In 1866, he married Miss Henrietta Parcell, who died in 1910, after many years of married life in the same community. They had four sons and two daughters, of which three sons are the only children alive today. The three sons are Shirley, of 1626 Mars Avenue, "Weller of 22040 Detroit Road, F.J.Jr., of 1252 Andrews Avenue.
The father is intensely proud of Rocky River, and took an active interest in civic affairs for many decades after defective hearing handicapped his enthusiasm. Only three years ago he composed and read a speech before the Rocky River Chamber of Commerce, in which he told of the struggles of the early settlers to wrest a living from the wilderness, and extolled the virtues of the village which was now "coming into its own".
During the interview with the reporter Tuesday, a call made by a grocer reminded Mr. Dean of the time when he took a load of potatoes to market, and upon being offered only 3 cents a bushel, hauled them back to Rocky River and dumped them in the water rather than sell them for that price.
He attributes his age mainly to hard work and abstinence from the use of alcohol. His one "vice" consists of smoking three stogies a day.
"Ninety years is a long
time," he mused, "but I'll be here a long time yet. Why, I remember when
my grandfather and Mr. Farran, from over past the South Ridge, would get
together and tell about their experiences in the Revolutionary War. They
were both past 100, and one day they went out in the woods to show us youngsters
how to properly split rails. Now grandfather lies where the old homestead
used to be, and Mr. Farran, from over past the South Ridge, would get together
and tell about their experiences in the Revolutionary War. They were both
past 100, and one day they went out in the woods to show us youngsters
how to properly split rails. Now grandfather lies where the old homestead
used to be, and Mr. Farran, who lived to be 105, is buried in Fairview."
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK
The first Deans in America were Stephen and Rachel, of Plymouth. Stephen was one of the Pilgrims, having arrived in 1621 in the second vessel, Fortune. John and Walter Dean, who are the progenitors of many of those now bearing the name of Deane or Dean in the United States, came to this country about 1637, settled first in Boston, then at Taunton. They probably came from Chard, near Taunton, England, and are supposed to have belonged to the family of Dene of Denelands, whose coat of arms is given in an article of the Dean family in Vo. III of the New England Genealogical and Antiq. Register, page 375.
first in the direct line of our ancestors, whom I have been able to trace
with certainty, is John Deane of Dedham, Mass. It is said in the article
above referred to the John was probably the son of Walter, who came over
from England in 1637, but this would seem to be mere conjecture. The descent
of Sara Dean from John Deane of Dedham is shown as follows:
|1. John Deane, of Dedham, by his wife Sara had|
|John, born April 25, 1677|
|Sarah, born December 13, 1678|
|Ebenezer, born May 17, 1681|
|Joseph, (our ancestor) born March 14, 1683|
|Jeremiah, born March 24, 1685|
|Elizabeth, born October 13, 1689|
|Abigail, born June 12, 1694|
|2. Joseph Dean
of Dedham, born March 14, 1683 (or by another
chronology January 1, 1682-3,) married Mary Faxon, whose
genealogy is given below. Joseph was a clothier He appears
to have died in 1722, as administration was granted on his
estate March 6, 1722. He left six children, Mary, Thomas,
Joseph, Sarah, Elizabeth and Faxon.
|3. Faxon Dean,
(spelled Faxson in Dedham Records, and Faxton in
Hough's Hist. Lewis Co.) was born in Dedham, Mass., January
27, 1718-19 and at the age of twelve was placed under the
guardianship of his brother Thomas. Later he removed to
Faxon Dean was drowned
in April, 1807, being carried away in the mill at Marinsburgh, N.Y., during
a freshet. (See Hough's Hist. Lewis Co., p. 181.) He had children as follows:
|Samuel, born August 4, 1755|
|Mehetabel, born September 6, 1760|
|Sarah, born September 9, 1762|
|Olive, born January 6, 1766|
|4. Samuel Dean,
born August 4, 1755; in Westfield, Mass. removed from
Westfield, Mass to Martinsburgh, N.Y., and later in 1814, to Rockport, O.,
where he died April 2, 1840; married June 17, 1784 to Mary Weller, who died
at Martinsburgh, N.Y., May 30, 1812. Had children as follows:
Chester born April 26, 1785 died 1855; married first
Lucy Smith second Abigail Taylor.
Philotta, born October 5, 1781; died December 10, 1869;
married Apollo Moore
Sara, born April 5, 1789; died March 21, 1864;
married Datus Kelley
Joseph, born March 9, 1791; died January 9, 1857;
married Sophia Fay
Samuel, born January 13, 1793; died December 31, 1866;
married Effa Crowl
|Mary, born 1795 married Kirtis Gould|
Jerry, born December 25, 1795; married Phebe Garrison
Harry, born February 6, 1799; married Calista Luce
Cynthia, born February 9, 1801; died August 12, 1866;
married Henry Peck
Aaron Weller, born October 1, 1803; married first Ester
Ann Weeks second Achsah Whitwood.
Mary Weller was born
March 6, 1763. She married Samuel Dean June 17, 1784. Samuel Dean enlisted
October 26th 1778 - Westchester Co. Militia - 6th Co. Pawling Reg. New
York (Sacket) He was appointed ensign November 5th, 1778 and served to
the end of the war (Taken from the state of N.Y. archives. Chester Dean
- oldest son came to Rockport before his father Samuel, who came in 1814
with his two sons Joseph and Aaron W.
Samuel Dean died in Rockport April 2, 1840. His son Chester died in Rockport November 2, 1838.
(Mrs. Chester Dean of Rocky River still has the wedding ring of Samuel and Mary Weller.)
Chester Dean, oldest son married on January 7th, 1814 Lucy Smith, daughter of Abner Smith Dover. George Wallace Esq. married them at the home of Datus Kelley who was his brother-in-law. This was the first wedding in the township of Rockport. He married second, Abigail Taylor.
Phillotta Dean was born
Sara Dean was born in Martinsburgh.
Aaron Weller Dean lived on a farm on the site of the present Lakewood Cemetery.
Chester Dean came to Rockport in October 1811 with his brother-in-law Datus Kelley who married his sister Sara. His sister Cynthis came with them also.
Joseph Dean son of Samuel and Mary Weller built and carried on the first tannery in the township. This was on the north side of Detroit Road at Elmwood. Samuel, Chester and Joseph all voted at the first election in April 1819. Samuel was elected one of the overseers of the poor and Joseph Lister and one of the fence viewers. The body of Samuel was moved three times, and now rests in Lakewood Cemetery.
Chester Dean owned the
southern part of the land first owned by Datus Kelley, it extended from
Detroit Road south almost to the Nickle Plate Railroad. Mrs. Chester Dean
of Rocky River has a $5.00 gold piece given to her husband by his grandfather
- date 1852. children of Chester and Lucy Smith Dean
|1.||Hiram, married Elvira Jeanette Fuller|
|2.||Sara, married Irad Miller|
|3.||Lucy, married David Pease|
Children of Chester and
Abigail Taylor Dean (Abigail Taylor was born in Lenox, Mass. She was the
daughter of Jasher Taylor who settled in Dover.)
|1. Mary Ann, married first Philip Wright; second Alexander J. Russey|
|2. Lucius, married Margaret Clark|
|3. Horace, married Carrie Hotchkiss|
|4. John, married first Eliza Clark; second Low Facer|
|5. Marcella died March
20, 1856, married William D. Kelley who was born
September 7, 1828, died September 12, 1892. She was his second
wife. They had three children.
|6. Datus, married Silverthorn|
|7. Oscar, married Annie|
|8. Jerry W., married twice|
|9. Charles C., married Mary Curran|
When Chester and his sisters came to Rockport they drove a team of horses to Sacketts Harbor then by boat to Fort Erie - they then visited Niagara Falls, then by team to Chippewa and by schooner from Black Rock to Cleveland where they arrived in the middle of October 1811. Chester served in place of his brother-in-law Datus Kelley who was drafted in the army in 1813.
Abigail Dean was left a widow in 1838, but by good management was able to keep her family together and educate them. She was always ready to help those in sickness or trouble. She lived on the Dean farm on North Ridge Road to the age of eighty-six.
Children of Mary Ann Dean and Philip Wright
|1. Nellie Wright, married William Crabbe|
|2. Philip Wright, married
Emma Grimes. He was for over fifty years a
member of the Black and Wright firm of undertakers.
Children of Mary Ann Dean and Alexander J. Hussey
|1. Lydia, married Mark Mitchell - now living in Lakewood|
Abbie D. born May 20. 1861 married George E. Kidney on July 13th,
1886. He was born July 24, 1858. They still live in Ravenna
- have two daughters.
CHARLES A. DELANEY
LAKEWOOD CHIEF AT DINNER
CLEVELAND PLAIN DEALER October 5, 1947
Lakewood Fire Chief Charles A. Delaney, whose 15-year tenure as head of the suburb's fire department has been marked by a series of national awards, will be honored Tuesday evening at a testimonial dinner to be held in conjunction with the Lakewood Chamber of Commerce observance of Fire Prevention Week.
Chief Justice Carl V. Weygandt of the Ohio Supreme Court, a Lakewood resident for many years, will deliver an address at the dinner to be held at 6:30 at the Lake Shore Hotel.
More than 300 Lakewood citizens are expected to attend the function, according to Councilman George D. Quinn, chairman of the dinner.
Guests will include officials of the International Association of Fired Chiefs, of which Chief Delaney is a past president.
Delaney became a member of the Lakewood Fire Department in 1917 and in
1932 was appointed chief. In the 15 years which followed Lakewood has won
13 national fire prevention awards for cities within its population classification
and has won two first awards for cities regardless of population.
CHARLES A. DELANEY
LAKEWOOD POST September 19, 1947
TO HONOR FIRE CHIEF DELANEY
ANNOUNCE PLANS FOR TESTIMONIAL DINNER OCT. 7th
Even to Be Feature of Fire Prevention Week
Fire Chief Charles A. Delaney of Lakewood, who recently retired as president of the International Association of Fire Chiefs, will be guest of honor at a testimonial dinner in the Lake Shore Hotel on Tuesday, October 7.
A committee appointed by Mayor Amos I. Kauffman and headed by Councilman George Quinn, completed plans for the affair this week. The event will be held in conjunction with the Lakewood chamber of commerce observance of Fire Prevention week and the 300 tickets for the dinner will be available starting today either at the Lakewood chamber headquarters or from members of the committee. A score of service and civic organizations are cooperating actively.
Speaker will be Chief Justice Carl V. Wyegandt of the Ohio Supreme Court and a Lakewood citizen of many years standing. Several nationally famous figures in the fire fighting world are expected to be on hand.
"Chief Delaney has been accorded highest honors by his colleagues and it is assuredly appropriate that this community recognize his outstanding ability and devotion ot duty," Mr. Quinn said yesterday. "Under his direction the fire department has consistently given Lakewood outstanding service and has won national recognition for its efficiency. I know that many citizens are anxious to let Chief Delaney know that Lakewood appreciates his accomplishments. The testimonial dinner will afford that opportunity."
Chief Delaney became a member of the Lakewood Fire department on June 27, 1917. He became chief in March 1, 1932. During his term as head of the department Lakewood has won 13 national fire prevention awards for cities within its population classification and has twice been accorded first rank among all American cities regardless of population.
with Mr. Quinn on the committees are F. Clayton Aurand, Elmer M. Osborne,
Russell V. Bleecker, Marc W. Wilson and John L. Shissler.
In 1892, Mr. and Mrs. J.D. Dickson came to Lakewood Hamlet. Mrs. Dickson was Waltha A. Montague and was born in North Eaton, Ohio, July 8, 1859. Her parents came from New York State. Her mother was Eunice Porter. Her father was Henry Montague. Mr. and Mrs. Dickson were married on October 10, 1880. They were married at North Eaton.
James Delbert Dickson was born November 3, 1861, at North Ridgeville, Ohio. He was the son of Henry Dickson and Permelia Robinson, of North Ridgeville, Ohio.
When the Dicksons came here he took charge of the grading of the allotment of Pleasant Hills, which was just south of Madison and was what is at present the foreign district. It was a part of the National Carbon Company's land for their employees. He worked for about two years at this. He had 25 or more men working under him laying sewers, grading streets and was Superintendent of the job. He worked for about two years doing general teaming in the landscaping of the new homes in Lakewood. Then he brought sand for the molding department of the National Carbon Company, working at this for about 6 or 7 years. Gravel and sand were drawn fro the Beech Farm and some from Hahn's beach. He then made artificial stone for foundation work. His plant was on Quail Street. In 1892 he built a home in Robin Street and lived there for about 12 or 14 years. There were several foreign families lived in Lakewood at the time but lived along the railroad tracks.
after they moved here there was a vote for local option as to whether the
hamlet would be wet or dry. The vote went dry. It was written up in the
papers and it was said that the Welkin rang. Someone said that they didn't
know whether it made the Welkin ring or not, but they did know that it
made Mr. Nicholson's cowbell ring. They had a parade celebrating the event
and Nicholson's cow bell rang during the parade.
hauling sand from the beaches one man became wound around a tree and in
pulling the load of sand he upset the whole load down the hill.
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK
Born Dec. 25, 1859
That year, as the gold
rush was still on, his father went to California and Dick and his mother
went to live with her father Dr. Richard Fry. His father's name was Ansel
Durant Edwards. His sister (Dick's) Martha Edwards born Sept. 15, 1857,
married George D. Reemer. She died in June 1933. Dick graduated from Harvard
in 1881 - had special honors in physics. He was court reporter for the
Cleveland Plain Dealer from 1886 to 1887. He was in the local office of
Associated Press, then went to New York - was Court reporter and later
Assistant City Editor of the New York Sun in New York 14 years. His three
children were -
Louis Durant - Born in 1888 - desk editor - New York Mirror.
Allen Richard - born in 1893 - lives in Lakewood
Mellville R. - Born in 1895 - Editorial staff, New York, N.Y. Mirror
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 8)
East Rockport was known years ago as a district of well kept picturesque homes, and there are a few of these which stand out above the rest even today, as the home of Dr. Kirtland and that of Franklin R. Elliott.
Mr. Elliott was a lover and deep student of plant life and horticulture, and was an authority on that subject. He was also for many years an editorial writer for the Cleveland Herald. He was the original owner of the dozen acres of "Garden of Eden" between Madison and Detroit Avenues, and 99th and 101st streets (afterwards bought by the family of the late Lieutenant Gov. Mueller) where he had a fairy land in which every known variety of plant or fruit tree was cared for by one who knew all about their habits and their natural enemies.
A heavy loss caused by an extreme winter saddened and affected his later life, and he came to East Rockport where his son, the well known authority on Alaska, Professor Henry W. Elliott, later financed the wonderful home on the land through which the present Cohassett street runs. The grounds of the Elliott estate, three acres of rolling lawn with a quaint rambling one-story cottage set back from the street a quarter of a mile, were concealed from the passersby by the abundant foliage of rare trees and fruit varieties. There was a large pond where the big residence now stands at the southeast corner of the two avenues. An artistic large summer home peered out from the trees in the rear of the pond, 200 ft. from the street.
No one excelled the Elliots as entertainers, and to be a guest in their home signified that one "belonged" to the aristocracy.
At one time a theatrical was given for the Church of the Ascension on the lawn. A stage was built at one end, and magic lanterns made it look like fairyland.
The daughters were Cora, Carrie and Kate, and they were leading society girls. They were all practically unbeatable at the game of croquet played on the well kept lawn. Mrs. Elliott was a Hopkins-of original Welsh stock with a long line of Connecticut ancestry. As she grew older she became quite stout. Professor Elliott was the head of the family for many years after the death his father, although he was away at Washington much of the time in the employ of the Smithsonian Institute. He made many trips to Alaska, an is known as the foremost authority on the seal herds.
He married there the daughter of the former Russian governor, and has a family of ten grown children scattered from New York City to Honolulu. The only member of the family now living in Lakewood is Mr. Frank R. Elliott who was named after his only uncle who died many years ago at the beginning of a prosperous career.
Elliott's sister, Mrs. Carrie Roberts, is the only member of her family
living near the original home. She resided a the Eastman for many years.
Two of the sons of Henry W. Elliott, volunteered in the World War, Lionel
and John, but did not go overseas.
MISS ANSLEY'S NOTE BOOK) (An interview with Arthur Hall)
near Cohassett - model of Great Lakes system made of ponds in front yard
- wrote a book "Fruit Trees of America."
FRANKLIN REUBEN ELLIOTT
CYCLOPAEDIA OF AMERICAN BIOGRAPHY - APPLETONS Page 330
Reuben Elliot, horticulturist, born in Guilford, Conn. 27 April 917; died
in Cleveland, Ohio. 10 Jan. 1878. He settled in Cleveland in 1844. He was
the author of "The Western Fruit Book, or American Fruit-Grower's Guide"
(New York, 1854; enlarged ed., 1867); "Popular Deciduous and Evergreen
Trees" (1868); "Handbook for Fruit-Growers" (Rochester, N.Y., 1876); and
"Handbook of Practical Landscape Gardening" (1877). He also contributed
frequent articles on fruit-culture to periodicals.-His son, Henry Wood,
author, born in Cleveland, Ohio 13 Nov. 1846. He was educated in the public
schools of his native city, and has been employed for many years by the
Smithsonian institution, Washington, as an artist. He edited the Cleveland
"Daily Herald" in 1879, and then went to Alaska as a special agent for
the treasury department. He has published, besides magazine articles, "Monograph
of the Seal Islands" (Washington, 1881); and "Our Arctic Province, Alaska,
and the Seal Islands" (New York, 1886).
ELLIOT, HENRY WOOD
EARLY DAYS OF LAKEWOOD - D.A.R. Pg 39-41
Franklin R. Elliott, father of Henry Wood Elliott, came from Guilford, Connecticut, in 1842 and established an agricultural implement and seed store in Cleveland. He later branched out into the nursery business. In 1845, he married Miss Hopkins and established a home on Detroit Avenue in Cleveland, near the present Nickel Plate Railroad. In 1867, he came to East Rockport, purchasing twenty-two acres of land from B.N. Keyes. This land was on Detroit Avenue near the present Cohassett Avenue. Mr. Elliott was a scientist and an authority on horticulture, especially on vineyards. He wrote editorials for the old Cleveland Herald on various subjects pertaining to horticulture. East Rockport was always noted for beautiful homes, and his became one of the most picturesque in the neighborhood. It was almost as outstanding as that of Dr. Kirtland. The three-acre grounds had beautiful rolling lawns. The quaint, rambling one-story house, set back at least a quarter of a mile from Detroit Avenue, was concealed by hedges of rare foliage, and by shade and fruit trees. There was an artificial pond near the southeast corner, with an artistic summer house at one end.
There were five children, Henry Wood, Frank, Katherine, Cara and Cora. The members of the family were noted as entertainers, and an invitation to their home was much sought after. The daughters were leading members of Cleveland society, and were expert at the game of croquet.
Henry Wood Elliott was born in Cleveland on November 13, 1846. In 1862, at the age of sixteen, he became private secretary to Joseph Henry of the Smithsonian Insistution, which position he held until 1878. He was associated with the institution for over forty years.
After the death of his father he assumed the financial responsibility of the East Rockport home, but much of his time was spent in Washington. On March 4th, 1865, he left New York City for Alaska, via Panama and the Nicaragua route to San Francisco, as a member of the Kennicott party. With this party was Charles Pease, Jr., grandson of Dr. Kirtland. In May, 1865, they organized a construction division to build a telegraph line from Puget Sound overland via St. Petersburg and Europe. The work was ordered abandoned in 1866.
While in Alaska, Mr. Elliott married Alexandra Melovidoff. She was the daughter of a former Russian Alaskan governor. He brought his wife and baby daughter to East Rockport in August, 1873.
As agent of the United States Bureau of Fisheries, Mr. Elliott spent much time in Alaska, and was assigned to investigate the Alaskan seal herd conditions of the Pribilof Islands in Bering Sea. For thirty-five years he carried on his fight on behalf of the seals, which without him would doubtless have shared the fate of the buffalo. He strove for their preservation almost single-handed against overwhelming odds. On August 24th, 1912, the Hay-Elliott fur seal protection treaty became effective. Mr. Elliott gave the Cleveland Museum of Natural History his collection of books and papers about the fur seal industty, said to be one of the most valuable collections of its kind in existence. He richly deserved the title "Savior of the Seals".
He was an artist as well as a scientist, and illustrated with water colors his two books "Our Arctic Province" and "Seal Islands of Alaska".
The family is now scattered in various parts of the United States. One daughter, Ruth Elliott Brayton, lives in Indianapolis.
Henry Wood Elliott died in Seattle, Washington, May 24th 1931, having become an internationally known scientist. He was the author of the fur seal treaty ratified in 1911 by Japan, China, Russia and the United States. His photograph in Wasington, D.C., bears this inscription:
man who did by far the most of the work that saved the seal industry to
the people of the United States."
EMMONS, CHARLES WALLACE M.D.
HISTORY OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY AND CLEVELAND
W.R. COATES -- Volume III, Pg. 82-83
Charles Wallace Emmons, M.D., one of the leading physicians of Lakewood, was born at New Alexander, Columbiana County, on April 13, 1883, and is the son of Harrison and Mary (Lower) Emmons, both of whom were natives of that section of the state, The father, Harrison, was born October 3, 1840, and was the son of Enos Emmons, a native of Virginia, who was the first member of this branch of the Emmons family to come to Ohio. When the Civil War broke out in 1861, Harrison Emmons enlisted in the First Regiment of Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and served until September, 1864, when he was honorably discharged and mustered out, and immediately returned to his home in Columbiana County. Soon after the close of the war he went to Iowa, where he secured a half section of land, and for eight years was there engaged in farming and stock raising, at the end of which time he sold out and returned to Columbiana County, and engaged in merchandising at New Alexander, continuing in business for about thirty years. During that period he also served as postmaster of the village and as treasurer of the township.
He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. His wife, Mary, the daughter of Michael Lower, one of the early pioneers of Columbiana County, was born May 31, 1846. To their marriage the following children have been born: William Sherman, who is an attorney of Alliance, Ohio; Catherine, who married Professor Crist, of Mount Union College, and following his death she married James E. Scott and they reside in Cleveland; Albert F., who is a real estate dealer of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Delmer O., who is in the mercantile business at Minerva Ohio; Ida, who became the wife of William Culbertson and they live at Alliance; Henry H., who is a practicing attorney at Canton, Ohio; Dr. Charles W., subject; James B., a merchant of Cleveland; and Mary, who married Corwin Ray, of Baird, Ohio.
Dr. Emmons, was reared in New Alexander, acquired his early education in the public schools, taught school for one year, and then attended Mt. Union College for three years. He was graduated from the Cleveland College of Physicians and Surgeons, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, class of 1906. That college is now the medical department of Western Reserve University. During 1906-7 he served as interne at the Cleveland City Hospital, and then engaged in the general practice of his profession at Rogers, Ohio. After several years he changed his location to Fairport Harbor, on Lake Erie, in Lake County, and in 1920 came to Lakewood, where he has since continued in the general practice of his profession. He maintains his offices at the corner of Brown Road and Madison Avenue, where he completed in 1924 a beautiful brick residential and commercial apartment, one of the best in that section of Lakewood. He there also established a first class pharmacy, which is in charge of his nephew, a graduate pharmacist.
Dr. Emmons is a member of the Ohio State and the American Medical Associations. While practicing at Fairport he was secretary-treasurer of the Lake County Medical Society. He is a member of Temple Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Painesville; Lakewood Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of the Knights of the Maccabees. He is vice president and a director of the Medicraft Company, manufacturers of fine soap and toilet articles, with a nation-wide market and a high reputation.
1906, the Doctor married Jennie L. Heastand, who was born in Columbiana
County, Ohio, the daughter of Frank L. and Ella Heastand. The Doctor and
wife have a daughter, Carolyn Roce, eleven years of age.
Letter addressed to Andrew Farmer, colored, East Rockport, containing certificates of clerk's office, Halifax County, Virginia, dated August 15, 1856, to the effect that said Andrew Farmer and his wife, Phebe, were born free in Halifax County, Virginia.
This family is supposed to have been descended from Pocahontas and the family was either granted its freedom or purchased it according to these documents prior to 1831.
This family moved to East Rockport in 1867.
East Rockport is now Lakewood.
copies of these certificates have been given to the Historical Society.
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 9, 10)
Two old ladies with dark faces resided for many years in their own house at 1435 Winchester Ave. Their dark faces were due to a predominating Indian strain on their mothers side, and an admixture of colored blood on their father side, with one of the wealthy English families of Prince Edward Company, Virginia. The white predominated in the father. These two sisters, Sarah and Susan Farmer, were practically alone, as their only brother, John Farmer, who was a veteran of the First U.S. Cavalry in the Civil War, died 10 years ago.
father, Andrew Farmer, came to East Rockport in 1867 and went to work as
farm-manager for Dr. Jared Kirtland. Before that time he had worked for
some time for the wealthy Jennings whose widow, Eliza Jennings, donated
the large amount of property and her brick mansion to the Industrial Home.
Mr. Jennings spent only a small part of the years at his Cleveland mansion,
living most of the time in his stone mansion in West Virginia, where the
taxes were lower. While he was away, Andrew Farmer was in complete charge
of the farm of 70 acres which extended from about 101st street to Highland
Avenue and south as far as Madison Avenue. When Andrew Farmer settled on
the Kirtland estate, he had a tall straight figure which would attract
attention anywhere. He soon became indispensable to the old doctor, who,
when he died, provided in his will that Andrew Farmer and his family could
remain in their home, which stood about in the location of Giel Avenue
during his life. Mrs. Farmer was, according to her daughters, a descendant
of Pocahontas. Mrs. Farmers Indian name was "Bouchee". With other Indians
of her tribe, she had been a slave of a Virginian named Evans, contrary
to the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. A great Virginian lawyer named
Col. Booker took up the cause of the unfortunate Indians, won out in court,
and had them released. Mrs. Farmer in this way added Evans to her Indian
name. Andrew Farmer was always a free man. The Indian Characteristics predominated
in the children of Andrew Farmer and Bouchee Evans. John Farmer did not
apply for a pension until urged to by his personal friends, and the papers
arrived just after he died. His sisters, who depended to a great extent
upon him, got nothing from the government. Their brother was 16 years old
when he volunteered in the Civil War. The two old sisters had to take in
washing, and clean in private homes for an existence.
THE FARR FAMILY
Eliel Farr Sr. - born in Cummington, Mass., June 6, 1777.
Died in Rockport Sept. 6, 1865.
Married Hannah Gardner - August 1797 (she was born in Barrah, Conn., April 26,
1769 and died in Rockport, April 3, 1842.)
A. Aurelius Farr - son of Eliel Farr Sr. - born Sept. 18, 1798 in Rockport.
Died Dec. 11, 1862 in Rockport
Married Louisa Marilla Follett - April 5, 1821 (she was born in Mass.,
March 30, 1804 and died in Rockport, Nov. 7, 1874).
(1) Edwin Farr - son of Aurelius Farr - born Aug. 14, 1822 (?) in Rockport
married Ann Eliza Brown - second wife was Helen Stoops.
(a) Frank Farr - son of Edwin and Ann Farr - born Sept. 29, 1850
(b) Helen Farr - daughter of Edwin and Ann Farr - born June 27, 1853
(c) Charles Farr - son of Edwin and Ann Farr - born Oct. 2, 1865
(2) Amanda Farr - daughter of Aurelius Farr - born Sept. 24, 1825
Died Aug. 5, 1890 in Dover, Ohio.
Married Edwin Bidwell - Oct. 5, 1843
(a) Edwin Farr Bidwell - son of Edwin and Amanda Farr - born Aug. 11,
(3) Julius Farr - son of Aurelius Farr- born Oct. 18, 1828
Died - (no date)
Married Jane Munn - (no date) - (daughter of Deacon Munn - died in
Rockport) - they had no children.
(4) Joseph Murray Farr - son of Aurelius Farr - born May 3, 1834
Died Oct. 27, 1912 on old farm
Married Laura Bell Demming - Oct. 6, 1855 (she was born May 20, 1837
and died May 20, 1897 on old farm)
(a) Adda S. Farr - daughter of Joseph Farr - born Feb 7, 1857 -
(b) Emma Janet Farr - daughter of Joseph Farr - bron Mar. 4, 1864
Died - ?
Married, Chester H. Dean - Aug. 22, 1894 (he was born Sept. 11,
1867 and died Oct. 31, 1932)
(i) Lloyd L. Dean - son of Chester Dean - born Augl 1, 1895
Died - ?
(ii) Laura Louise Dean - daughter of Chester Dean - born
Jan. 7, 1902
Died - ?
Never married - was principal of Fairview High School
(5) Hannah Farr - daughter of Aurelius Farr - born Aug. 9, 1837
Died Feb. 4, 1889
Married Alfred Stow Kelley - Dec. 23, 1826
(he was son of Datus Kelley)
(a) Herman Alfred Kelley - son of Alfred Kelley - born May 15, 1859
Died Feb. 2, 1925 in Cleveland, Ohio
Married Florence Alice Kendall - Sept. 3, 1889
(i) Virginia Hutchinson Kelley - daughter of Herman Kelley - born
June 1, 1890 - Died June 28, 1914
Married Arthur Cleveland Newberry of Sandusky - June 18, 1914
(ii) Alfred Kendall Kelley - son of Herman Kelley - born
Sept. 21, 1891
Died - ? Married - name unknown
(6) Charles Granville Farr - son of Aurelius Farr - born Sept. 3, 1840
Died Oct. 10, 1850 on the old farm
(7) Emily Farr - daughter of Aurelius Farr - born Jan. 3, 1845
Died Mar. 11, 1914
Married Daniel K. Huntington - June 18, 1867 in Rockport (he was born
Mar. 28, 1845)
(a) George Farr Huntington - son of Daniel Huntington - born
Feb. 7, 1871
Died Aug. 28, 1875
(b) Fannie Huntington - daughter of Daniel Huntington - born
July 14, 1876
Died - ?
Married Orson Sawyer Upp - Oct. 22, 1897 - they had 5 children
(c) Allie Wright Huntington (twin) daughter of Daniel Huntington
born Oct. 24, 1879 Died -?
Married Fred Tuttle (he was a grandson on the Munns) - they
had no children
(d) Alfred Huntington (twin) son of Daniel Huntington - born
Oct. 24, 1879
Died Dec. 17, 1880
(e) Minerva Agnes Huntington - daughter of Daniel Huntington - born
Sept. 9, 1883 Died - ?
Married Clarence Case - they had 1 child
B. Algernon Farr - son of Eliel Farr, Sr. (no vital statistics)
C. Eliel Farr, Jr. - son of Eliel Farr, Sr. (no vital statistics)
D. Joseph Murray Farr, Jr. - son of Eliel Farr, Sr. (no vital statistics)
April, 1817, Eliel Farr, Sr. farmer and surveyor, and his sons Aurelius,
Eliel (Jr.) Algernon, and Joseph came from Pennsylvania and settled on
LAKEWOOD POST, November 8, 1935
FISHBACK ACCEPTS NEW JOB
With Schools Six Years; Department's Record Enviable
Miss Sophie Fishback, director of recreation in Lakewood for the past six years, has tendered her resignation to become effective January 1.
Miss Fishback's resignation was given George Bowman, superintendent of schools on October 28, but it was agreed to withhold announcement because of effect news might have exerted on the recreational tax levy--which, incidentally came within 300 votes of getting the required 65 percent.
Miss Fishback was recently appointed National organizer and director of recreation for the Women's Benefit association by the Supreme President, Mrs. Bina West Miller. She will enter upon her new duties January 1.
The Woman's Benefit association, an international organization, with headquarters at Port Huron, Michigan, is one of the largest fraternal benefit insurance organizations in the world, organized and managed exclusively by women. The membership, covering every state in the union and all the provinces of Canada is 215,000 which includes 30,000 Juniors. Since it's organization 42 years ago in Cleveland, the Woman's Benefit association has paid over $50,000,000.00 in benefits and has today over $38,000,000,000 in assets.
Miss Fishback's accomplishments in Lakewood gained national recognition -- particularly during the past few years when facilities were extended to accommodate thousands of unemployed as well as the other thousands who have previously enjoyed benefits of the department's activities.
From hundreds of baseball and basketball teams to scores of groups interested in bridge, dancing and similar activities--it could be said that the department offered something of definite interest to every young person and adult in the community.
During the World War Miss Fishback was with the National Y.W.C.A. in New York city and later was one of the field organizers in connection with the National Recreation and Playground association of America, with headquarters in New York city.
With defeat of the recreational levy and resignation of Miss Fishback just what will happen to the department after January 1 is a matter of conjecture. It seems certain that activities will be abandoned and that the ten years of effort which has gone into formulating the present system will be lost.
has been talk of a special election--of finding funds from sources not
now evident. But those close to the situation see no great hope.
FRENCH, A. ALBERT
ONE OF THE NATION'S OLDEST TWINS LIVES IN LAKEWOOD
at a window in the neat little cottage he built for himself with the hint
of a smile, he greets his many friends. There is a youthful glow in his
face, eyes that you would not think have looked upon the world for four
score and ten years. a depth of humor in those eyes that mellow with a
friendly glance, as he clasps the hand of an old neighbor in welcome. A
cheerful "sit down, I'm glad you called," and he means just what he says.
Thus Mr. A. Albert French and his called warm to a friendly conversation agreeable in principle yet at times controversial because Mr. French's guest has not been able to remember and analyze the happenings of the pat or anticipate the requirements of the future for the betterment of mankind. Mr. French quotes "you can only judge the future by the past and I believe in the future."
With but ten separating him from a century, he speaks with pride of his twin brother, Fred, now living in Washington, D.C. They alternate yearly visits, to celebrate their birthday.
During the Civil War the brothers served together. Mr. French speaks little of the war, however, seemingly more interested in the present modern tendencies of human nature.
After the close of the Civil War, Mr. French was appointed to serve in the war department of the national capitol where he was stationed about three years, returning to Lakewood to resume his building contracting business. Many of these houses still bear mute testimony of the honest and efficient method by which they were constructed. Now may it be said of Mr. French at the age of ninety that:
in strength are his sinews bound,
But in heart and mind are his glories found."
He is not a political advocate of any policy that does not truly reflect the welfare and wishes of a community. Living within one mile of where he was born in Lakewood, he has confidence in its future.
Mr. French says, "I have looked over the platforms of the various candidates for Mayor of Lakewood and believe that under the management and direction of Mr. Joseph B. Hinchliffe Lakewood will have a capable, honest administration of its affairs. My good wishes for the welfare of the people of Lakewood prompts me to support him for the office for which he is so well qualified to fill.
platform is constructive and decisive."
HISTORY OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY AND CLEVELAND
W.R. COATES -- Volume I, Pg. 187
One of the three oldest families in Lakewood, of those who have members living here and have made their mark on local history and contributed to our progress is the French family.
In the history of Price French, adopted citizen of the United STates, we can find a model of loyalty for the country in which he had made his home. He was a brother of Lord French, in the East Indian service of England in the early years of 1800. He was a younger son and what little capital he had was furnished him by his mother, when he sailed for Canada. He remained there a short time when he came to Vermont and was married. When his older brother died he refused to return to England and assume the title, but remained here and served in the War of 1812 as a lieutenant.
He came to Rockport in 1818 and settled. He bought fifty acre north of Detroit Avenue, partly paid for it and proceeded to clear away the heavy forest. This he traded with Nicholson for fifty acres of unencumbered land on the south side of Detroit Avenue extending to what is now Bunt's Road.
Mr. John French, who lives at the corner of Wyandotte Avenue and Detroit, lives on the land purchased from James Nicholson and within 200 feet from the site of the original home of his grandfather, Price French. Of the original family there were three sons and three daughters, Collins, Albert, Alonzo, and Mrs. White, Mrs. Wedge and Calipherma, who never married.
sons of Albert French served in the Civil War for three years, the last
wo named being twins. Several members of the family have filled various
offices in Lakewood.
LAKEWOOD COURIER (Richard - Edwards)
Perhaps the oldest, whose descendants still live on same land, is the French Family.
Original 50 acres bought of the Connecticut Land Company in 1818, in deep forests.
One of the three eldest families in Lakewood, of those which have descendants still living here and have made their mark on local history and progress is the French family. In the history of Price French, adopted citizen of the U.S., one could find a model of loyalty for the country which he had made his home, for he was the brother of Lord French, in the East Indian service of England in the early 1800s; he was a younger son and what little capital he had was furnished him by his mother when he sailed for Canada, remained a short time he moved to Vermont in the Sates and was married; and then when his older brother died he refused to return and accept the title, while later in the war of 1812 he served as a lieutenant in the american forces against England. He evidently appreciated that fact that loyalty to the land in which he found his happiness and made his living was a higher attribute than patriotism, which means narrowly the love for the land of one's fathers. Price French left Ont. Co, N.Y. and went to Indiana in 1818 and from there to Rockport in 1828 - with him was his wife and six children. Located near Nicholsons.
It was after a brief stay in southern Indiana to which place he migrated with his family, that Price French came to Rockport, Ohio now Lakewood in 1818. He bought 50 acres, north of Detroit Avenue, including the site of the Garfield school, partly paid for it and proceeded to clear away the heavy forests which covered the land. Later the first ancestors of the Nicholson family proposed a trade for 50 acres on the south side of Detroit Avenue, adjourning on the west the Nicholson Avenue and extending to what is now known as Bunts road. Being a trade of encumbered for unencumbered land Price French accepted. Both the Nicholson and French original purchases were direct from the Connecticut Land company, and it is believed that the French family is the only one of such original purchases which has descendants still living on the original property.
Mr. John French, who lives at the corner of Wyandotte Avenue and Detroit, lives on the land purchased from James Nicholson and within a couple of hundred feet from the location of the original home of his grandfather, Price French, which stood in front of the present McMyler residence.
Of the original family there were three sons, Collins, Albert and Alonzo and three daughters, Mrs. White, Mrs. Wedge and Calipherma French, who never married. The heirs of the big estate of Collins French are the well known Andrews family, which occupies the old mansion house near the corner of Andrews avenue.
The loyalty of the family persisted in the later generations for three sons of Albert French, John, Alfred and Albert, served three years in the Civil War, the latter are twins. Alfred alone was severely wounded. He has been in the government service at Washington for many years. John French was for many years city clerk and auditor of Lakewood. Mrs. Andrews, first, was a relative and adopted daughter of Collins French, whose heir she was, he having no children.
Collins French who was the oldest of the sons of Price French, would have succeeded to the title of Lord French had his father not refused the title. He surely looked the part for he was always immaculate in dress and of great personal dignity and "gentleman farmer" applied to him equally to Edwin Andrews, first, who succeeded to the management of the estate. Mr. Jay Andrews, son of Edwin, first, has been prominent in local affairs as clerk of the Board of Education and member of the council which put in the first sewer system. Miss Alta French who was for years principal of the Detroit Street (Cleveland) school, was the daughter of Alonzo French.
To Mr. Collins French belongs the credit of first suggesting building a high level bridge over the river at Superior-Detroit avenues.
Most interesting it is to hear Mr. John French tell of the stories of the pioneer days as he had heard them from his grandfather and others; how when the Nicholsons built their first log cabin about opposite Nicholson avenue on Detroit street, it was impossible to get boards out of which to make the doors and it was necessary to split big logs into rough substitutes. Before the doors were finished it was necessary to keep a fire burning in front of the opening to keep out the wolves.
Mr. French expressed strongly his disapproval of the plan to build a new town hall; the Tegardine house could be fixed up so as to be good enough; and there was no need to move into the Palace in the Park.
He recalled with humorous twinkle in his eye the days when he was city clerk and the City Fathers met in Captain Tegardine's barn with the skunks under the floor -- all hardy "he" men -- and now the women votes, an aura of incense, a tone of refined argumentation unmarred by one improper word -- "I say so".
ALBERT FRENCH, the second son of Price French married Almina Paddack. Their children were Marshall, Lorenzo, John, Albert and Alfred who were twins and Rosina.
MARSHALL, the oldest son, who died in 1886 married Melissa Harris.
They had two children, Archie, who died in 1891 and Owen Bert, who lives in Washington, D.C. He is a graduate of Case School and is a scientist of note. He followed his profession in many parts of the world. As a member of the United States Coast and Geodetic Survey he worked in Alaska, the Hawaiian Islands and numerous other fields. Many years ago as the scientific man of the group, he went with the Wellman Polar Expedition. He taught for a time in the University of Peipng, China. Recently he resigned as professor in the George Washington University at Washington, D.C. He married Minna Schott and has no children.
LORENZO, the second son, died in 1904. He married Sarah Harris, the sister of Marshall's wife. Their one daughter May was for many years the principal of Lawn School and later of Landon School in Cleveland. She and her mother live at 2040 Warren Road, Lakewood.
JOHN, the third son, died in 1920. His wife was Isabella Sanderson, who was born in Scotland. Their daughter, Cora Belle married Francis Wilson Long, and they with their daughter Laurabel live on Detroit Avenue next door to the little brick house built so long ago by Price French.
ALBERT AND ALFRED, the twins, celebrated their 91st birthday in August, 1934. In January 1935, after a brief illness, Alfred passed away at his home in Washington, D.C., where he had lived most of his life. He lost an arm in the Civil War and for many years was employed in the War Department at Washington. He left his wife Mrs. Mary Meem French and a daughter Kate. His son lives in Glendale, California. He has three children Thomas, Frances and Susan.
also fought in the Civil War. He was with Sherman in his famous march to
MRS. FRANCIS LONG
CLEVELAND PLAIN DEALER June 13, 1972
Mrs. Francis Long, 91, Dies; Rites in N.Y.
Mrs. Francis W. Long, 91, a descendant of a pioneer Lakewood family, died yesterday in the Women's Christian Association Hospital, Jamestown, N.Y.
Mrs. Long, the former Cora French, was born in East Rockport, which later became part of Lakewood. Her great-grandfather, Price French, who came here in the 1800s, bought 50 acres from the Connecticut Land Co., north of Detroit Avenue in the vicinity of Wyandotte Avenue. He served as a captain in the War of 1812.
Mrs. Long lived on the old French farm at Wyandotte and Detroit avenues, Lakewood, in her early years.
She was former member of the Swedenborgian Church. She also helped fund drives for the Eliza Jennings Home, 10603 Detroit Avenue N.W.
Mrs. Long moved to Bemus Point, N.Y., to the home of a daughter, Mrs. Walter J. Colburn, in 1959.
Mr. Long died in 1963.
Long is survived also by grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Services
will be the Evans funeral home, Bemus Point, at 1 p.m. Thursday.
FRY, DR. RICHARD
MRS. TOWNSEND'S SCRAP BOOK (Page 1)
Street was named after Dr. Richard Fry who bought 27 acres running from
Detroit Street to the lake, about 1000 feet west of the present Cleveland
city limits. He practiced medicine in the early days in Cuyahoga Falls.
For 17 years before he came to East Rockport in 1864, he taught school
in Cleveland, at one time being head of the grammar department of the school
on St. Clair Avenue where No. 1 engine house now stands. He was a close
friend of Andrew Freese, Principal of the first high school in Cleveland.
He specialized in mathematics and languages. At the age of 60, his nerves
frazzled. He bought this land at the advice of Dr. Kirtland who was a Yale
graduate and a classmate of Dr. Fry. There was a tumbled down log house
where the block on the northeast corner of Fry and Detroit stands, which
was tumbled into a hole and a semi-circle of evergreens planted to the
north screened a fine bed of roses of choice varieties of which Dr. Fry
was very fond. The homestead which was erected cost even in those cheap
times more than the land, and when it was sold some years later, only brought
$200, or so. Both he and his wife, Martha Johnson Fry, were of Yankee descent.
He was born in Hartwick, Otsego County, New York, in 1803 near Cooperstown,
and told of meeting James Fenimore Cooper when the latter was a young man,
and he a small boy. The doctor's grandfather came from Providence, R.I.,
and Mrs. Fry's father was Capt. Jacob Johnson, who fought in the battle
of Lake Champlain in 1813. The Johnsons came from New Hampshire. Dr. Fry
never in his life wore a beard, shaving himself every day. He was 6 feet
tall, very spare and had jet black eyes. He always wore a stock instead
of a necktie. In this 75th year, he and Mrs. Fry were in Cooperstown, and
he made the 4th of July oration, having been the same orator at the same
place and time when he was a young man of 25. Among those who went to school
to him were Mark Hanna, the Chisholms, John D. Rockefeller, and the Nortons.
Return to Local History Files Main Page